Can We Offend God?…It’s Not How You Think

Can we actually offend God? After all, as human beings, we do some evil things on a regular basis. Even good people, with good intentions fall short, make mistakes, and do things that our God would be disappointed with.

So the question again…can we offend God? In reality, I have learned that God is a forgiving God. I believe that if we ask for forgiveness, we are forgiven as simply as that. I believe He may be disappointed in our choices sometimes, but I’m not so sure He is offended.

At this point, I’ll put the concept on human terms. As mentioned, I don’t believe we can offend God. However, if we could, what do I think would offend Him the most? I don’t think it would be something bad we do or an action we should take and don’t. As I reflected on this, I firmly believe what would offend God the most, is not seeking His assistance. Think about it. He is God. He can do all things. He wants to do it all for us and bless us in ways we can’t even imagine. Yet we often don’t ask. We try to figure things out on our own, in our own flawed ways. We have the supreme power of the universe at our side at all times, someone who can’t wait to express that power on our behalf. Yet we don’t even consider asking Him most times.

I think about this in my own life. I am fortunate that I have a great relationship with my earthly father. For the most part, I believe I have made him proud. However, the times I have disappointed him most, are the times he was readily available to help, but I didn’t ask, and fell on my face as a result. He was ready and willing to help, but I didn’t ask and give him the chance to bless me. He still loved me of course, but I’m sure he was quite disappointed.

So what’s the solution for all this? Pour your heart out to God and ask Him to help. It’s as simple as that for whatever you need. His is there. He will answer. He will provide. If it’s not the way you asked for, it can only be better.

Again, I really don’t think we can offend God. However, why even cause the slightest disappointment because you did not ask for or rely on His power. I will say once again… GOD WANTS YOU TO ASK; GOD WANTS TO BLESS YOU BEYOND YOUR WILDEST DREAMS! Allow Him to do so and watch what happens. Enjoy the blessings 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

