When You Kill Them With Kindness You Bring Them to Life

kindness pic

Do not let kindness and truth leave you; Bind them around your neck, Write them on the tablet of your heart. – Proverbs 3:3

A man who is kind benefits himself, but a cruel man hurts himself – Proverbs 11:17

This article is a continuation of a series I am sharing about positive and powerful attitude attributes in Jeffrey Gitomer’s book “The Little Golden Book of Yes”. It is part of a positive attitude report card shared in the book where the readers rate themselves on a scale of 1-5 to monitor their level of positive attitude. I have taken the challenge of trying to rate 5 for as many as the 22 attributes as possible. I challenge you to do the same, as doing so can drastically change the amount of positivity and power in your life.

The attribute I discuss today is kindness. The definition I found for kindness is the quality of being friendly, generous, and considerate. It doesn’t sound too difficult to me, though I often wonder why so many people in the world today have such difficulty practicing it. I can’t say that I am perfect in practicing this in every situation, but I can say this…I have seen so many times how even just one simple kind act can not only change someone’s day, but can change their entire outlook on a negative situation, ultimately enhancing one’s quality of life.

There are so many more Bible verses about kindness than the ones I shared at the beginning of the post. Besides being listed as one of the fruits of the Spirit in Galatians 5, one more that grabs my attention is Proverbs 25:11 which says that “A word fitly spoken is like apples of gold in a setting of silver”. Often times, that fitly spoken word is a kind word. The second verse above says a man who is kind benefits. However, I find it more amazing that it is other people that benefit most when we are kind. And if you really want to stand out like gold, be kind in situations where kindness is not warranted or expected. It is extremely rare that people are kind when they have been wronged or hurt by someone. However, you can really be a true, Godly example by demonstrating such an attitude. It’s not easy to do, but I love the shock (or even frustration sometimes) on someone’s face when I return their negative or even rude behavior with kindness. Even if they don’t change from it, I at least get the satisfaction of knowing I handled the situation right and some kind of justice has been served.

As you can see, everyone wins when you demonstrate kindness. You benefit yourself, and most importantly, you make life better for those around you. The challenge going forward is to find as many opportunities as you can to demonstrate kindness to others (and please don’t forget to be kind to yourself as well). Even in difficult situations, find ways to kill ’em with kindness. Eventually it becomes habit, and the magnificent blessings magnify for you and everyone else. Enjoy them 🙂

Leave a Reply

