Think Yes First

When you think of your greatest desire, or a goal you want to accomplish, what is the first thing you think of regarding the possibility of its completion? When someone asks you a question, what is usually your response, or even the tone of it? This answer usually depends on the quality of your attitude. When you have a positive attitude, and you think about the possibility of accomplishing your goal, you usually think in yes terms. When someone asks you a question while you are maintaining a positive frame of mind, you tend to answer in the affirmative. Of course, the opposite is true if you maintain a negative frame of mind.

I am continuing in a series regarding positive attitude attributes found in Jeffrey Gitomer’s book, “The Little Golden Book of Yes”. Practicing these positive attitudes and making them habit can easily transform your life. It makes sense that thinking yes first can speed up this process. I share an exaggerated example, but one that proves this point very well. A great movie I’ve seen in recent years is a Jim Carey movie called “The Yes Man”. Carey plays a man who is generally unhappy in life, mainly because of focusing on fears which have led to a negative attitude. He attends a seminar which he is challenged to say yes to everything in life. He cannot say no. It leads to him leaving his comfort zone and trying some crazy things that he would have never thought to do before. However, for the first time in his life he feels a sense of adventure and fulfillment, and his life changes in many positive ways. These situations and relationships would have never occurred if he didn’t think yes first and had automatically thought no as he always did before.

This movie really challenged me. Yes, it is an extreme and humorous way to teach a lesson, but it is one that has stuck with me in the years since I have seen this film. In many ways I limited myself because of an automatic no response, instead of thinking yes and seeing where it would lead me. I wish I can say I’ve completely gone away from the no thinking and letting fear rob me of potential blessings. However, I realize how valuable a yes attitude is and how thinking yes first can lead me and anyone else to receiving blessings I would never have imagined I have experienced these blessings and yes is my first thought. It is true that I may have to be uncomfortable and even inconvenienced, but the blessings and rewards far outweigh any discomfort.

I challenge you to think yes first. You don’t have to say yes to everything. In fact, in the movie, Carey learns that it is not always possible and even beneficial to say yes to everything. However, do all you can to think yes first. At first, this may be a hard habit to break. It was for me, and as mentioned, yes is still not completely automatic. If your knee-jerk reaction is no, quickly bring yourself back and think how the no could be a yes. The more you do it, the easier it gets. And when you feel the wonderful feelings of the blessings and miracles it brings, you will be motivated to do it more.

Can it be done? Can your life be changed simply by focusing on a yes response as often as possible? I answer with a resounding YES!!! Enjoy the blessings 🙂

Leave a Reply

