Back to Basics

back to the basics

It’s been a while since I’ve written at this site. Or anywhere at all for that matter. I apologize to those looking here for helpful, uplifting information. Sometimes life takes over (or as in this case we allow it to) and energy is needed somewhere else.

In many ways, 2015 has been an up and down year. I have continued to grow as a person and in my relationship with God. My entire family and I continue to be healthy and protected and enjoy a blessed life. However, in other ways, this year has been a step back. I have gone away from some of the great information and advice I’ve learned and share with you. As a result, I’ve experienced a stagnancy and more lower level emotions lately than the more energetic, higher vibrations that lead to greater blessing and enjoyment of life.

As I asked myself how to get back on the right track, it didn’t take long to answer the question. During other times in my life where I felt the same type of emotions, I succeeded by following a simple formula….get back to the basics. Other successful people in all fields follow the same advice. When a baseball player is in a hitting slump, he often returns to the very basics of hitting, from the stance, swing, and all of the taken for granted technical skills that made him successful in the first place. When a sales person is not selling, they often go back to the books and re-learn the basic skills of successful selling, once again doing the little things that brought big success.

As I reflected on this back to the basics mentality, I was almost immediately lead to a valuable resource of mine. When I first began the path to self-discovery and personal development over 8 years ago, I found and read a book by Jeffrey Gitomer called “The Little Golden Book of Yes”. It was this book that helped me realize how much my own attitude made the biggest difference in life, regardless of the obstacles I was facing. It made me realize I was the only person that determined how successful my life would or would not be, and I was fully responsible. I would highly recommend it to anyone, whether you are just beginning your personal discovery journey or you just need to get back to the basics. It was also this book that led me to discover some other great books I read, such as “The Power of Positive Thinking”, “Think and Grow Rich”, and “The Secret”. These books then inspired me to do further research and learning which have taken my life to a new level and has helped me do the same for others.

As I go back to basics, I am reading this book again (I’ve read it several times but it’s been a while). I realize I have learned a lot since the first time I read this book, but it has shown me how much I’ve been skipping over the basics lately, which is one main reason I am feeling like I am not where I want to be at this point. I also realize that if I begin to once again follow these very easy basics, I will quickly get back to my own personal growth and satisfy the desire to bring many people to a higher level in their lives.

That is where you come in. As a way to help myself get back to basics and get back to writing, I will share over the next few weeks some of these simple basics that can make major positive impacts in your life. It’s just a matter of getting into the habit of doing them on a regular basis. In the book, Gitomer presents a Yes Attitude self-reflection and report card. There are 22 personal attributes where you rate yourself on a scale of 1-5. At the end, you add your score and he tells you where you stand regarding your attitude attributes.

I will share these attributes with you over the next few weeks. I have made it my goal, as often as possible, to score a 5 in as many of these as I can each day. In fact, I rate myself every day and base my success on my score. I challenge you to do the same. As always, I welcome you to share how these or other attributes work for you, and how you get yourself back to the basics of life when you feel the need. In the meantime, enjoy the blessings 🙂

2 Responses to Back to Basics

  1. 2015 has also been a year full of blessings and challenges for me. I like the idea of going back to basics and look forward to your updates.

    • joedalio says:

      I’m glad to hear that you have been blessed this year and hope you receive even greater blessings as time goes on. I appreciate the comment. Have an excellent day 🙂

Leave a Reply

