An Alternate Definition of Love…And How to Demonstrate It

I was reminded in church today (as I am many times I read the Bible) the importance of loving God with my whole heart, mind, and soul, and loving my neighbor as myself. OK, raise your hand if you consider yourself excellent and totally proficient at demonstrating this kind of love. If you honestly raised your hand, then please know I have a great admiration for you.

I am betting that most of you did not raise your hand. My hand is definitely not up. Speaking for myself, I honestly love people and do my best to demonstrate love. However, I often get caught up in my own world and my own goals and desires. Many times I don’t demonstrate the love to myself and others like I should. My motives and intentions towards others are generally good, but I’d be lying if I said it was like that on an all the time basis.

You are probably familiar with the Love chapter in 1 Corinthians 13. It provides an excellent list of what love really is. However, I recently discovered an alternate definition that really caught my attention. I read it in Eckhart Tolle’s book, “The Power of Now”. It struck me because it is not only powerful, but very easy to do. If you are one who is looking to be more loving to yourself and enhance your relationship with others, I recommend this advice to you.

I am made more aware every day that God is a part of everyone. He lives inside of me and you. According to what I read, love is simply appreciating the part of God in everyone. It makes sense. When you love yourself (as you are supposed to) you are simply loving the best part of you, which is God who lives in you. In order to love others, you simply need to appreciate the God part of them. Since God is part of all of us, we are all connected. When you appreciate the God part of someone else, you are in essence appreciating the God part of you since it’s all the same. Hence, you are loving others as you love yourself.

When you wholeheartedly appreciate the Godly spirit in another person you are demonstrating love. Yes, we do other things to demonstrate love, such as service, acts of kindness, gifts, etc. Those are actions we take to show love. However, the key is to focus on the Godly aspects of that person. I understand that every person has flaws (this author has many). It’s amazing how, when we focus on the Godly aspects, we avoid focusing on those flaws.

It is amazing how powerful this is. I notice that when I focus on the God part of myself and everyone else, I feel a great peace, and my relationships with other people flow positively and naturally. I believe you will experience this as well if you simply focus on the Godly part of yourself and those around you. You will “love” what happens. Enjoy the blessings 🙂

Leave a Reply

