How Was 2014?

End of Year 2014

We have already arrived at the end of this “new” year (seems like it just started yesterday) 2014. I hope yours was a great one.

As I like to give me readers occasional glimpses inside my head, I will complete one of my annual “selfish” posts and share some of my own reflections of this past year. For me, 2014 was like the past five years. I was optimistic that this would be the breakthrough year where my greatest dreams would come true. Although it didn’t quite happen, it was a year of serious personal growth that has taken me steps closer to realizing my ultimate goals.

My greatest growth was a spiritual strengthening and renewal. My Christian walk has grown steadily for the past few years. However, I realized more than ever that the kingdom of heaven is within me, and that God’s spirit is not only near me, but an actual part of me. Reading books like Wayne Dyer’s “Wishes Fulfilled”, and St. Germain’s “I Am Discourses” really enlightened me to this truth and helped me begin to live it out. I also benefited greatly from learning more about the importance of living in the present moment instead of dwelling on past or worrying about the future. Eckhart Tolle’s book “The Power of the Present Moment” was a great help in getting me there. It’s a book I tried to read in the past but found it very difficult to understand. I guess the timing was right this time around and it truly resonated each time I read it. Regardless, I discovered that living in the present moment is truly one of our greatest powers.

In other areas of my life, there was some growth, while some areas didn’t grow as much as I would have liked. The greatest blessing was in the financial area as this was far and away my greatest financial year. We were able to put a significant dent in out debt and paid most of it off completely. I was provided a different part time job in addition to my teaching that paid twice what the previous one did.

The one area that still needs great improvement is my leadership at home. People tell me I am a good father, and I believe it. I still feel like I could be a much better husband and leader. I am home less due to the work schedule, which makes it a bit difficult. That will be major focus for next year. Speaking of jobs, I am less than happy with either of them. On the other hand, I am extremely happy to have them, and thankful for the income and impacts I can have on other people, especially adolescents. My ultimate goal is to work one job from home, and steps were taken this year to potentially make that happen.

Finally, I can also be thankful for the great health of myself and my family. We are very well protected, and none of us was sick for an extended period of time. Even among my crazy schedule, I did not miss any days because of extended sickness.

The bottom line, as I end another year, is I have SO much to be thankful for. I serve a God that has only my best in store, wants to bless me abundantly, and is a part of my very being. I take this with me as I head into 2015. I am setting some major goals, and look forward to the journey to reach them.

I thank you for staying with me for one person’s take on this past year. I invite you to share how 2014 was for you. I hope you have grown and can also eagerly look forward to 2015. Enjoy the blessings 🙂

4 Responses to How Was 2014?

  1. rexsikes says:

    You rock Joe. You make so many excellent points. Thanks for sharing your thoughts and insights. Blessings and Peace! Thanks for an excellent blog!

  2. vonchris says:

    Isn’t it great to be grateful? Sounds like you had a good year. (Smile.)

Leave a Reply

