Is Hypnosis Appropriate For Christians?

What do you think about the topic of hypnosis? Even though it is far more accepted and known in today’s society, it still carries an aura of mystery around it.

I became interested in hypnosis when I was 14 years old. My father found and began using a book on self-hypnosis. I too learned how to hypnotize myself and even as a teenager used it to remove fears, heal injuries, and build my confidence.

Fast-forward to today. It is far easier to hypnotize yourself as there are countless programs and videos available that do it for you. You can use hypnosis for changing your subconscious to accomplish anything you want to achieve in life.

As good and effective as hypnosis is, people still question not only its effectiveness, but its ethical nature. I share an interesting conversation and concern from one of my teenage daughters. I am fortunate that all three of my girls are interested in living the proper Christian life. I was talking about a hypnotist I was listening to when my daughter asked the question…. “Dad, we are Christians. Shouldn’t we be relying on God to change us instead of messing with hypnosis?”

I was impressed by her thoughtful question. I am glad that she would even challenge her father to defend her faith. It did not take me long to address her question with an answer that I’ve always used to defend using hypnosis since I’ve been a Christian.

So is hypnosis ok, or like more daughter says, should we fully rely on God without using any of these tricks? Here’s my answer….hypnosis is fine for anyone to use. It is not unethical, as long it is not used as a negative towards someone else and it is used in line with God’s will. Here are the two main reasons I explained to my daughter and to anyone else who has concerns, why hypnosis is right and good:

  1. Correct use of God’s free will – God has given us a free will. It is up to us to use that free will in a responsible and productive manner. When we use hypnosis to gain more confidence, heal relationships, or improve our life in general, we are ultimately making ourselves more useful for accomplishing God’s purpose in our lives.
  2. Good stewardship – One of our responsibilities in life is to be the best possible stewards of God’s resources. One of the most powerful gifts He has provided for us is our mind. Using our thoughts and minds in a positive, efficient manner will bring us a blessed, and abundant life that we can share with others. When you use hypnosis to maximize the power of your mind, I believe you are maximizing your stewardship of this great gift God has given you.

My daughter accepted my explanation. Although she is still not sold on hypnosis, she agreed with my reasoning and realizes hypnosis is far from ungodly. I am not trying to convince you to use hypnosis (although I strongly recommend it). However, if you are a Christian with the same concerns or simply have your doubts about hypnosis whatever faith you practice, I hope this information addresses those concerns for you.

I am all for relying on God to bring us where we need to be in life. He should be the ultimate focus in bringing us to live the life we are meant to live. Yet I ask…why not maximize the power of the subconscious mind that God has provided for you. Hypnosis is not only ok, but it’s a powerful tool you can use to maximize the power and greatness of your life. Enjoy the blessings 🙂

One Response to Is Hypnosis Appropriate For Christians?

  1. […] When you discuss hypnosis, it sometimes brings up negative ideas or misunderstandings. Some people still see hypnosis as someone swinging a pendulum and “getting sleepy”, or using it to make people do crazy things they have no idea they are doing. There are also some ethical and religious concerns, as some might see it as ungodly, or trying to control what God should be doing for you. For more about this question, check out the article I wrote recently, Is Hypnosis Appropriate For Christians? […]

Leave a Reply

