Snovember…Buffalo Snowstorm of 2014

I live in the town of Lancaster NY. It’s a nice town about 15 miles east of Buffalo. If you’ve seen the news lately, you know that we are being bombarded with snow. It’s easily the most snow I’ve ever experienced in one day. We received about 4 and a half feet in one day, with another foot or two yet to come.

We’ve had extreme snow before. After all, this is Buffalo. In January 1999 we received 7 feet in a month. In December 2001 we received 7 feet in a week. Now in November 2014 we may receive 7 feet (175cm) in 2 or 3 days.

I will honestly say I hate the snow. It’s my fault because I chose to live here (I moved here from Long Island 23 years ago). I knew what I was getting into, but I’ve grown weary of the snow in the past few years, especially last winter which was a brutal one. However, I promote the power of positivity at this site, and there are certainly some positives I can bring from this experience:

  • I work two jobs, almost 60 hours a week. Neither one is accessible, so I may end up with a 4 day vacation.
  • It could be worse. I am being inconvenienced and having to do hard labor in removing piles of snow. That’s it, and it’s only for a few days. I’m not losing my home or going through a life altering hurricane, tornado, earthquake or flood. In fact, as soon as I get tired shoveling (too much snow for the blower) I go back into my heated house.
  • Family time. None of us is going anywhere for several days. We are able to spend extra quality time together and enjoy each other’s company. We’re already making plans for the next few days as well 🙂
  • I’m living history. How many people can say they dealt with 4 feet of snow in one day? Even people that have lived here for over 50 years are saying they’ve never experienced anything like this. Let’s face it, we’ll be talking about this once in a lifetime (hopefully) experience for many years to come. As much as I dislike the snow, I admit that I am enjoying this moment of unique history and I can say I was there.

I will say that I don’t wish this on anyone. It only confirms my desire to one day move to warmer climates once my kids are done with their schooling. But as I said, it could be worse. If you need a visual of what this may look like, here you go. By the way, in the 4th picture with the “mountains” there are cars under there. Hopefully it will help you appreciate the weather in your part of the world. Have a great day 🙂

wpid-20141118_074218.jpg wpid-20141118_081653.jpg wpid-20141118_081641.jpg wpid-20141118_112510.jpgSnovember Blizzard 2014

 

3 Responses to Snovember…Buffalo Snowstorm of 2014

  1. The Vintage Couple says:

    Wow, look at all of that snow. I am not complaining about our little wind chill here in Virginia. Thank you for my weather reality check!!

    Blessings,
    Aisha

  2. […] from a 6-7 foot snowfall that has crippled the city. You can see my previous post for more on the Snovember […]

Leave a Reply

