Remember the Feeling

I was watching a sermon from Joel Osteen last week. As usual, he said something that really made me think about how following this advice can enhance the quality of my life. I share it with you in hopes it can do the same.

Joel reminded the audience of how many blessings we have received from God. However, he also reminded us how we often take these blessings for granted. We feel great when we receive them, but as time passes, we lose the gratitude and positive feeling towards the great gifts we have received in life.

I don’t know about you, but I can certainly relate. I do appreciate the blessings in my life, but I often take them from granted as well. Just as I was thinking this, Joel then challenged us to focus on some of these blessings specifically and remember how we felt when we received them. He suggested to feel the same feelings of gratitude, love, and closeness with God that we felt at the that time. It was a very enlightening experience!

I pass this challenge on to you. If you are like me you sometimes take these gifts for granted. For example, I love my wife and kids. However, I admittedly take them from granted at times. I have a job that I had only dreamed about before. Yet I often find myself complaining about its difficulties instead of cherishing the opportunities it provides to positively impact young lives. I am sure you can think of blessings you’ve received where your attitude is the same. If so, follow this advice and put yourself back to when you first received your greatest blessings. Focus and re-live the wonderful joy and gratitude you experienced at that time. Carry it with you and keep that feeling in your heart.

I can tell you that when I practiced this (and continue to do so), it affected my entire world. I went back to the time I realized I had met my dream partner and how thankful I felt. I re-lived the joy of holding each of my girls in my arms for the first time. I remembered the joy of purchasing our dream home and the gratitude I felt for God removing all of the obstacles to do so. Even little things, like watching my high definition TV for the first time, or driving my new car, or whatever gift I’ve been presented.

Why is this process so powerful? I believe it is for two reasons. First, it helps maintain an attitude of gratitude. I know that when you are thankful for even the smallest things, God provides a stream of even greater blessings. Also, when our feelings and emotions are strong and positive, it affects our energy. When our energy and vibration is high and positive, it sets us up for the amazing blessings God has in store for us and they start pouring in. I believe that is what I experienced this past week.

Once again I challenge you to spend time each day noticing and appreciating the great things you have in life. Spend a few minutes re-living the joy, gratitude, and enthusiasm as you did when you first received your blessing. Retain this feeling and gratitude in our heart and refer to it as often as possible. Then watch the blessings flow. Enjoy every moment 🙂

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

