Controling Your Thoughts

I have learned a great deal over the past few years that the quality of your life depends first on the quality of your thoughts. I share about it often at this blog. However, sometimes controlling your thoughts can be very difficult. They can be like a runaway train and you may find it difficult to control your thoughts and keep them positive.

Even though I have learned to become master of my own thoughts, I still sometimes go through times where I realize that I’ve allowed some unhealthy thoughts to enter. I try to catch this as quickly as possible because I know that I need to think positively in order to be productive.

One excellent way to target your mind to positive thinking is a Bible quote from Philippians. Whenever I struggle to maintain positive thoughts I often go back to this verse. I was reminded of it again recently. Philippians 4:8 says… Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable–if anything is excellent or praiseworthy–think about such things.

It is a great reminder about what to think about, especially if you are having difficulty keeping your mind focused on positive things. The art of positive thinking goes well beyond this, as in affirmations, visualization, and the like. However, this is the most excellent rule of thumb and “back to the basics” method of positive thinking that I believe there is. Simply thinking about beautiful things, blessings to be thankful for, or any good thing in your life will bring you back to thinking positively and impact your day positively as well.

I recommend taking at least a few minutes several times during the day to reflect on admirable, praiseworthy things and people around you. You will notice the immediate impact in your attitude. This then affects everything else to relationships, the flow of your day, or whatever in a very positive way. Then you will receive even more things to be reflect on and be thankful for. Enjoy the blessings 🙂

3 Responses to Controling Your Thoughts

Leave a Reply

