Being a Vessel of God’s Power

I have grown so much as a person in the past few years. However, as joyful as I am about that, I realize that I still have so far to go to fully realize and be the person I want to be, and the one that God wants me to be. I want to accomplish great things, but still sometimes think I don’t have the capability to make a difference.

You may be able to relate and may be thinking that, regardless of some of the excellent qualities you have, you have too many weaknesses to make a difference. If so, I will share a Bible verse that inspired me today from 2 Corinthians 4:7. The version I read (NLT) says…we now have this light shining in our hearts, but we ourselves are like fragile clay jars containing this great treasure. This makes it clear that our great power is from God, not from ourselves.

I was deeply inspired for a couple of reasons. One is that I am learning more and more that God is not just someone on the outside that we beckon when we need him, but instead God is part of us and we are part of Him. He is this great treasure and this light shining in our hearts.

Another reason this verse inspires is that it shows perfection is not required. We are compared to fragile clay jars that can break at any moment. Yet God still loves and trusts us enough to house His treasure in us. In the commentary I read along with this verse, it mentioned great Bible figures that God has used. For each it mentioned God’s greatness in them along with the many mistakes that they had made. It’s further proof that perfection is not required.

My hope is that this will inspire you today. You may be fragile and breakable (even perhaps on the verge of breaking). However, you have an unbelievable power that is part of your very being. When you focus on the fact that this power is perfect, and it is the very power of God working in you, the potential in your life is endless. You can accomplish anything. The key is to get yourself out of the way, and yield to this power, which is God in you. Let this light shine. Then simply follow it and do what you believe you are called to do.

Remember, He trusts you, his breakable and imperfect vessel, to carry this light and shine it for great things. If you do, you will certainly experience more of those great things that you can count. Enjoy the blessings 🙂

4 Responses to Being a Vessel of God’s Power

  1. Thank you for the reminder.

  2. Very inspiring post to begin the day with.

Leave a Reply

