Don’t Edge God Out

There is an old commercial where people sit and wait by a toaster. When it pops up, they grab the product at the same time and say, “Let go of my Eggo! It was a clever marketing idea in my opinion.

In memory of that commercial, I put a different twist on it for myself…Let go of my ego! As in the part of me that gets in God’s way of helping me accomplish my goals and dreams.

In several of his books, Wayne Dyer talks about the ego we all have, and he compares it to the part of us that is connected to God. He says the ego is the part of us that believes that our life is as good as our accomplishments and how much better we are or need to be than everyone else. The God side of us realizes we are all one and focuses on being our best instead of striving for that greatness.

The key to his explanation is in the title of this post…when we are focused on our ego, we Edge God Out. It has helped me pay more attention to where my thoughts and actions are focused. He also presents this question…is what I’m doing stemming from the part of God in me or from my ego? I share this same challenge with you to determine where your thoughts and actions are stemming from. If you are thinking from your ego, you are edging God out. If you are thinking from God’s perspective, you are on the right path, and you will notice things going much more smoothly.

This concept has helped me in other ways too. For example, there is a Bible verse that I’ve read countless times, and never understood until now. Matthew 16:24 has this message from Jesus…. “whoever wants to be my disciple must deny themselves and take up their cross and follow me”. It is not a pleasant thought to deny self, especially in this culture where we are told to focus on ourselves first. And taking up my cross brings up feelings of a sacrifice that I don’t know how capable I am of following through. However, I see how simple it is. Another way to translate (this is my own translation) is…in order to be a follower of Jesus and receive His greatest blessings, I need to deny my ego (the part of me that edges God out), and put this part of myself to death on the cross so that the part of God that is in me shines brightest.

I hope this helps you understand this concept better as well. You may now be asking (as I was), how to allow more of God in? I will share a great idea I learned from watching a film called “The Moses Code”. They provide a very easy guideline to follow:

G – give as much as you can and make service the essence of your being.

O – oneness – focus on the fact that there is a part of God in every one of us. In this regard, we are all one body. Instead of judging someone, see them as a part of yourself and how you can serve them. When you build up another, you are in essence building up yourself since we are all one in God. That’s one great reason why you receive so much when you give.

D – destiny – if you haven’t already, determine your destiny and what you really want from life. Pray about it then give it to God. Follow his lead instead of your own ego (which would mean you are edging God out) and take the steps you are led to take in order to make it happen.

When you follow the GOD steps above, you bring more of Him in instead of edging this out. Use this as a guide to determine the quality of the thoughts you are thinking and the actions you are taking. When you let God in, your negative self doesn’t get in the way, and the potential for blessings and miracles is unlimited. Wouldn’t you rather have this power working for you instead of your own limited self working against you? The key is to appreciate the part of God that is in you and allow it to do it’s powerful work. You will reach that destiny quicker than you can imagine. Enjoy the blessings 🙂

3 Responses to Don’t Edge God Out

  1. Great words to live by! Awesome post!!!

Leave a Reply

