There Is No Maybe In Faith

We all want to increase our faith, right? I believe the answer is obvious, and I join you in saying a resounding YES!

The problem is that as some people travel this road to greater faith, I hear another word that creates a major obstacle, causing  them to stumble and impede the progress they were making. That word is…maybe.

How many times do you hear it? Maybe I can get that job I’ve been wanting. Maybe I can fit into that dress or suit by next month. Maybe we’ll have the money by then. The list goes on and on. You don’t always hear the maybe word. Others like perhaps, might, and possibly also find their way into our conversations.

If you are seeking to increase your faith, those words cannot be part of the equation. I know because I see it in my own life. When I use the words maybe, it would be nice, etc., I am basically telling God that I don’t want what He has promised. He is not like the parent who says maybe simply because they cannot make up their mind at the time. He is fully ready and willing to provide the miracle we are seeking.

When I reflect on this, I am reminded of the verse in James which says “But when you ask, you must believe and not doubt, because the one who doubts is like a wave of the sea, blown and tossed by the wind.  That person should not expect to receive anything from the Lord.  Such a person is double-minded and unstable in all they do”. What does double-minded mean? According to another translation of the same verse, it means divided between the world and God. In a nutshell, believing in the world’s standards means focusing on limits, obstacles, and the way people say things should be. When we say maybe, we are trying to have faith in God, but still holding on to the world’s limits at the same time.

How do you solve this? Single-minded faith. Being single-minded means focusing on what God can do, which is anything and everything. Don’t worry about what might happen, how it will happen, or what people might say or how they will react. And don’t worry if you don’t see it right away because You Don’t Have to See it To Believe It. Instead think like your wish is an imminent occurrence. Say things like that job is mine; I will look great in that dress or suit; What are we going to do with all of that money? You are not being unrealistic saying things like this. In fact, you are being more realistic because if you demonstrate that single-minded faith, it is much more likely that God will make it happen than you lacking money, work, or good health.

I challenge myself and you my reader to think like this consistently. If you haven’t thought this way in the past, it will take some practice. Saying these things and training yourself to think this way is great practice. Like anything else, if you do it enough it becomes habit, and once this single-minded faith becomes a habit, it will be your life.

What is your top desire? Have faith, pray, and know that it is in the process of coming true starting now. Enjoy the blessings 🙂

2 Responses to There Is No Maybe In Faith

  1. Leilani Heno says:

    Another great one! This reminds me of my weight loss clients when they tell me that they will “Try” to reach their goals. I always say…that’s fine, but when you are ready to “Do” or “Be” let me know and I will help you to make it happen.

    • joedalio says:

      Thank you! I definitely prefer your do and be terms over try. The word try is like maybe. There is still some hesitation and lack of faith involved. That’s what people need to eliminate. Have a great weekend 🙂

Leave a Reply

