A Lesson From The Mood Ring

Do you remember the mood ring? When I was about 10 years old I became infatuated by the fact you could put a ring on your finger where the color changed depending on your mood.

I will use this fad as the analogy to describe something that’s been on my mind lately. Here’s a story…about 2 months before my 10th birthday I discovered the mood ring and instantly wanted one. Christmas had just passed, so my mother said she would get one for me, but I had to wait until my birthday. I was fine with that and anxiously waited for my birthday, knowing I would receive this gift.

This was all good until my family went on vacation a month later. Everyone spends more freely on vacation, right? This was going through my mind as I saw a mood ring in a souvenier shop. I knew my birthday was a month away, but I saw the opportunity to receive it now. I asked my mother and she said no, I still had to wait for my birthday. I complained and persisted a bit, but she said no again. I realized this was a lost battle and let it go, knowing I would simply have to wait a month longer.

Finally, my birthday arrived. I had faith that I would be receiving this mood ring, and sure enough there it was. Once I received it, I thanked my parents several times over, and enjoyed the benefits of having this desired gift.

I share this story to prove a point. We all have goals and desires now that we want to receive as soon as possible. I believe that by following this example, you can make it happen. Here’s how….the first thing I did was simply to ask. I expressed my desire to my mother that I wanted a mood ring. Immediately after that, I had the strong faith that it was mine. I wouldn’t get it right away, but I would receive it at the right time. I KNEW I would receive it. Here’s a key point…my mother was the type that if I kept asking and asking and complaining that I didn’t have it yet, she would change her mind and I would not get it. Knowing this, I simply kept quiet and waited. Even when I thought I had a chance to get it early, I stepped back and discontinued my complaining after I was denied the early opportunity to receive it.

Speaking of that early opportunity, sometimes you will get an opportunity to receive your desire sooner. I had the opportunity and went for it. I could have received it, or found out I had to wait a little longer. When I found out the latter, I simply accepted and waited the necessary time. Finally, the right time arrived, I received my desire, then went on to enjoy and appreciate it.

To summarize, I believe you can receive your desire sooner than later by doing the following:

  1. Ask for it – Ask God and anyone that can help you.
  2. Have faith – KNOW you will receive your desire at the right time.
  3. Take advantage of any opportunity to receive it as soon as possible.
  4. Avoid forcing the issue – instead of forcing it to arrive early and complaining that you don’t have it, let it go and joyfully anticipate the time you will have what you want.
  5. Gladly receive it, use it for God’s glory, and be ever thankful that you have it.

I believe that if you follow this formula, you will receive many things you desire. Some may arrive sooner than others, but this type of faithful and thankful attitude will bring abundant blessings into your life. I can guarantee that the color of your mood ring will represent joy, love, and a passion for life. Enjoy the blessings 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

