3 Words to Promote Self-Love

Today I would like to discuss the often misunderstood topic of self-love. It can often bring up negative emotions on both sides. For example, people can think of those who love themselves too much, or other people (especially themselves) who don’t love themselves enough.

I will start by saying this. Self-love is entirely healthy. I will add that it is entirely essential. I was recently reminded of one of the funniest movies I’ve ever seen. It’s called “Planes, Trains, and Automobiles”. If you’re unfamiliar, the basic plot is that Steve Martin plays a snobby, upper class marketing associate He experiences some difficulty and delays in his travels to return home from a business trip in time for Thanksgiving. Throughout his travels, he encounters John Candy, a loveable, friendly, but overbearing slob who just won’t seem to go away.

There is a scene in the movie where Steve Martin has had enough of the delays and the person he is stuck with. He verbally lashes and insults John Candy. Instead of lashing back, Candy, though hurt by the insults, says something like this…you may not like being stuck with me and you may think you’re above me. But you know what? I like me. My wife likes me. My customers like me.

Those words always stood out, as many times as I’ve seen this movie, and now years later. According to society, this individual may not be the desirable,wealthy high class person and standard so many of us are held to. However, he has something many people don’t. An honest comfort with being himself and loving the person that he is. He knows he’s not perfect. He knows he doesn’t have a lot. In fact, as the movie goes on we find out he has even less than he leads us to believe. However, he appreciates the person that he is, and he appreciates other people.

I challenge you my cherished reader to follow this lead, especially if you’ve been doubting yourself lately. You already know you’re not perfect. But do you know you are created by a perfect God who is very proud of His wonderful creation? I seriously challenge you to think about all of the positives about you today, and all the reasons you are lovable and valuable to others. I am sure you don’t have to think very much to think of at least a few high qualities you have to offer.

I also challenge you to reflect on the unlimited and unconditional love God has for you. No matter how imperfect you are and no matter how many mistakes you’ve made, you are loved beyond comprehension by your Creator. Cherish that and live with this assurance.

Here’s the best part. When you love and appreciate yourself to the fullest, it overflows to others. It is so much easier to love and positively impact others when your own love bucket is overflowing. I challenge you to love and appreciate yourself. Affirm throughout the day…”I like me”. In fact, step it up a notch and say, “I love me”. I find that when I affirm this, my mind provides reasons for me to naturally (not arrogantly) love myself. When I focus on these qualities, it increases my positive attitude and outlook, personal magnetism, and ability to make great impacts on those around me. I am convinced that it will do the same for you. Go ahead, it’s OK. Love yourself to the fullest and make a difference. Enjoy the blessings 🙂

Leave a Reply

