Is It Really Failure?

“I have not failed. I’ve just found 10,000 ways that won’t work” – Thomas Edison.

It’s amazing how many times I dwell on the f word. No, not that f word. One that is far worse. It’s called failure. How often have I (and many, many more) held back because of fear of failure? I am too embarrassed to answer that question. However, if there is one recurring idea and theme I’ve learned so far in 2014, it is the idea that negativity and failure is not a bad thing. It’s all about how you react to it. If you dwell your thoughts on it and give up, that’s when it is a bad thing.

I will be writing more about this topic in upcoming posts. I found this quote today and wanted to share. It is being strongly revealed to me that the most successful people are the ones that have failed the most. I am realizing that if I am going to be as successful as I want to be, I need to realize that failure may be part of the deal. And it’s ok!

I pass this information to you today. Obviously, you want far more success than failure. However, please know that you have no reason to fear failure. Avoid even looking at it as failure. Instead, realize that it may very well be part of the path to success. If so, accept it, learn from it, and use it to motivate you to the success you crave.

I end with a quote I’ve been hearing a lot lately. I don’t recall who said it, but it’s simple…”if you are not failing, you’re not trying”. Once again, you don’t need to stop if you fail once, twice, a hundred, or as Mr. Edison, 10,000 times. As he says, it’s not even failure. It’s just a way that didn’t work. Keep trying, and the light bulb will go on : )

5 Responses to Is It Really Failure?

  1. I love the Edison quote. I always say, “The greatest successes experienced even greater failure.” I say this because once you achieve success, the failures are negated.

  2. edelweiss says:

    Thanks for the inspiration! I so needed to hear this! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

