A Perspective That Never Gets Old

I had some extra time recently and was looking through some old pictures from about 15 years ago.  I was amazed by how much younger I looked in those pictures. Although I still look decent for my age, I realized that I’ve aged significantly. I really don’t stress about getting older, and I don’t obsess about the way I look, but I admit I was a bit saddened  by this.

Shortly after this I passed by a mirror and took a look. First a thought entered my mind, then a smile came to my face as I reflected on this fact…I look so much younger today than I will 15 years from now!

As I thought about it, it made me realize how often we tend to be saddened by the past. We get down about lost youth, lost opportunities, and allow negative situations to continue haunting us. I took this as yet another reminder to focus on and completely appreciate life as it is NOW. Enjoy every part of it. If we don’t, we will look back 15 years from now dwelling on those same lost opportunities and looks.

Please don’t do that to yourself. Enjoy each day as much as possible. Instead, 15 years from now you will look back on how great life has been, how you’ve learned from any negative situations, and that even if your youth isn’t what it once was, you are a far better person on the inside than you were then.

Go ahead. Look in the mirror and see how great you look. If you don’t believe it, fast forward the clock 15 years from now and think again. Put things in perspective and fully enjoy what you have now. That’s when life looks great 🙂

Leave a Reply

