Negative Thoughts Are OK

I already know what you are thinking…what is this, opposite day? If you regularly read my posts you know I am a great promoter of the power of positive thinking. So what’s this all about?

It was 6 years ago that I truly began to discover the power and benefits of thinking positive thoughts, and imagining positive situations. Plain and simple, it has changed my life. However, I am still seeking to grow more and take my life to an even higher level. One thing that has held me back is negative thinking.

Are you really confused now? I have shared many thoughts about positive thinking on this blog. Negative thoughts have held me back. And they’re OK?

In my personal growth journey I have learned so much, and the better news is that I continue to learn more excellent and helpful ideas. During the past few months I have learned that it is OK to have negative thoughts. Please allow to me to share some reasons why:

  • It proves that you are normal – It’s a fact that since the beginning of time, we have been wired to think negatively. Human beings are prone to think negatively, so you can feel assured that you are a normal human being if these thoughts enter your mind.
  • They are unavoidable – God Himself said that even the best of us will experience trials and difficult situations. It’s impossible not to be affected when these situations occur. It’s a fact that even for the most positive thinkers, negative thoughts will enter your mind.

After sharing this information, I will share the good news. It’s that you still have full control. What I mean is this. Negative thoughts will still enter your mind. It’s at this point that you have two choices. One is to let them control you, hang on to them, and allow them to hold you back. However, there are two better options. One is to acknowledge the thought andย then simply dismiss it. The other is to use it as a motivation. You can acknowledge the negative thought, then immediately turn it into a positive one, or better yet a prayer to receive the positive.

The main idea I am trying to communicate here is that negative thoughts are not the problem. It’s how we handle them. As mentioned, it’s a problem when we latch on to them and let them control us. For me, another issue is that I tried to fight them and do all I could to avoid them. I began to feel guilty when negative thoughts entered my mind. However, this only enabled me to dwell on them more and brought negative feelings. This combination only gave me more of what I didn’t want. Instead, I have learned that if I fight the negative feelings, I am going against the flow of my own human nature. It’s a battle I can never win. Instead, I follow the advice of those who have taught me to simply allow the negative feelings to exist, let them know that they have no control over me, and use them as a motivator to bring positive thoughts and situations.

If you have been fighting negative thoughts, you can end the battle right now. Let them in, but instead of letting them take over, simply laugh them off and use them to focus on the positive. If your experience is like mine, you will not only feel a great peace, but an even greater feeling of empowerment and ability to take the necessary steps towards the completion of your goal. That’s the part that’s REALLY OK. Enjoy the blessings ๐Ÿ™‚

9 Responses to Negative Thoughts Are OK

  1. Someone once told me that I smiled too much and it made me seem phony! Gosh, what’s wrong with that person? Joy comes from within and I am one of the least phony people I know, so although I have off days , it keeps me well rounded so I appreciate the good days even more and besides God is on His throne, why worry? Blessings and great post,

    • joedalio says:

      Ellie…first of all, I don’t think anyone can smile too much. I haven’t known you for long, but I will say that it’s very obvious how un-phony and real you are. I find it great that you realize that. Like you say, we all have our off days, but it’s great to know God picks us up, forgives us, and gets us right back on track ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Nadyess says:

    I love this post! And yes, it’s true that we can use negative thoughts by controlling them, to open our eyes and see the other side of them called positiveness. Thank you for sharing and have a wonderful evening.

  3. My therapist told me once that it’s okay to think it as long as I don’t do it. Some things I’d rather not think and some things I’d rather do.

  4. I used to feel guilty about negative thoughts but some thoughts occur spontaneously and I push them out of my mind just as quickly as they occur, so they are negated.

    • joedalio says:

      Thank you for sharing! From what I’ve learned that’s the exact way I’ve learned to handle those thoughts…accept them, release them, and replace them with positive ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Thanks for the great post! You’re very right.. Negative thoughts are normal and unavoidable.. It depends on us on how to control it and resolve to a positive action. Create a great day!

    • joedalio says:

      Thanks for the great comment! It certainly is up to us how much or how little the negative thoughts affect us. I will certainly create a wonderful day and I wish you the same ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

