How Big Is Your Goal?

“Set a goal so big that if you achieved it, it would blow you away” – The Secret

Why is it that when many people set goals, they simply shoot for the bare minimum? For example, they set financial goals to “just get out of debt”. Or career goals to simply “find a job better than the one I have”.

I can certainly relate because even now, that I know much better, I still find that I often sell myself short based on my expectations. I have taken it upon myself lately to follow the philosphy from Rhonda Byrne’s wonderful book. I am done shooting for the bare minimum. Instead, I want to be blown away. And I want to take as many people as possible with me.

Together let us take our level of expectation to a much higher level. Let us enjoy and not take for granted the small victories on our way to the goal. However, let’s not go one step above. Let’s go ten, a hundred, or better yet, not set limits at all.

I also find that when you increase expectations and shoot extremely high, you still grow even if you don’t reach the highest point. You end up much futher than if you would have kept your goals small.

I am not talking about being unrealistic. I know there are talents that I’ve never had and never will. I won’t be going in those directions. However, I have dreams and goals that I know I can achieve if I aim high, pray, think positive, and take the action necessary to get there.

The same is true for you. If you can see  yourself as perfectly fit, watching tv in your $2 million oceanview home in Malibu, doing your dream job, playing games with your dream spouse and kids, traveling to your dream vacation spots, or whatever, then go for it! Who says you have to limit yourself? Who says you can only have enough to get by? Whoever it is, I suggest you listen instead to the faithful voice inside that says your dreams can be reached and WILL be reached.

Ok, so I rambled. Again, as always. My point is that the bigger the goals you shoot for, the more likely you are to live the life you are dreaming of. The cool thing is you have full control of your thoughts and taking the steps to make it happen. You can  start at this moment, and be blown away. Enjoy the blessings : )

5 Responses to How Big Is Your Goal?

  1. sealeychars says:

    Joe. Thanks for the post. Another good one. For me the goal is not the main focus or the size of it. For me it’s who I’m becoming as I strive to reach it. This is becoming more and more important. I’m moving toward a place where the journey becomes more important than the goal itself. This way the goal keeps growing but as I reach the goal I won’t stop there, I’ll keep going because my foci is becoming the experience and the lessons in the journey. Simultaneously the goal is getting bigger and bigger but I just keep reaching it and moving past it so I can experience the journey. Thanks again for another good post.

Leave a Reply

