Bedtime Lessons From Kids

Why is it that kids never want to go to bed? It doesn’t matter that it’s their normal time, or that they are incredibly tired. On many occasions bedtime and getting kids settled down is a difficult time.

Before I reveal my answer, I will say that this doesn’t always go away once we leave childhood. I often stay up later than I should because I simply don’t want to go to bed, even though the stresses of the job and other parts of life have me completely worn out.

So what’s the big deal? Why is it so difficult for kids and some adults to get their already tired bodies to bed? It is simply that they are are fully engaged in the present moment. Think about it. Kids are so engrossed in a fun project, game, or tv show. They are enjoying the moment to the fullest and putting their entire heart and soul into it. Going to bed takes them away from that. It’s the same for me. I often delay going to bed, no matter how tired I am, because I am completely focused on something that I have probably found the scarce time to do. It could be anything from watching or playing a game, working towards my goal, reading, listening to music or a serrmon, or whatever. No matter what it is, I am completely focused and engaged on the present moment, enjoying it to the max.

It has been recommended to me, and I pass this to you, to take this bedtime philosophy and use it throughout your day. Focus and enjoy the present moment completely. Act like it’s minutes before bedtime, and you will delay moving on as long as possible until you have completely lived that moment.

I find that this type of present moment living creates more joy in life, and takes away guilt about the past and fear for the future. You are also more productive because you are completely focused and all of your heart and soul is on the task at hand. There is no room for procrastination, worry about failure, or making excuses.

My bedtime is not for another 12 hours, but I’m moving on to my next project that I will be fully fcoused on as if I had to go to bed in 12 minutes. I recommend living your life in the present moment as much as you can. You will be blessed beyond expectation. Enjoy : )

Leave a Reply

