Why Do We Even Have To Ask In Prayer?

I absolutely love when I receive answers to questions I’ve had for a long time. I received another such answer recently. I know many others have the same question, so I will share this revelation with you.

Many people wonder why we have to pray. After all, God knows what we need before we even ask. He already knows we want or need what we’re asking for, and He already knows He will provide that desire or something better if not exactly what we ask for. He even knows we’re going to ask even before we do.

So the question again…if God already knows all of the information beforehand, why pray? I’ve received other answers to this question before. For example, I’ve been told prayer is simply a way to keep in communication with God. All relationships grow through communication, so this makes perfect sense. I’ve also heard that God will deliberately wait for us to pray sometimes, simply to test our faith. Once again, I completely agree.

The information I learned the other day was the best revelation yet regarding reasons for prayer. I read this in the Life Application Bible. The verse is Jeremiah 3:3 which says….Call on me and I will answer you, and I will tell you great and mighty things which you do not know. The study note says that God can certainly take care of needs without hearing from us, but here’s the key….when we ask, we are acknowledging that He alone is God, and that we cannot accomplish in our own strength all that it is in His domain to do. In other words, we cannot accomplish anything in our strength, without Him.

In a way, I’ve known this for a long time. I know that with Him I can do all things, and without Him I can do nothing. However, I have never really considered this in the realm of prayer. However, it can’t be more true.

So why do we pray, even though God knows our needs and requests and the outcome before we even ask? Even though He doesn’t even need our prayers? Simply because we acknowledge that we can’t do it without Him. When we realize this and surrender our desires and needs to Him, we move ourselves out of the way, and allow His blessings and miracles to pour in. It’s up to us to be aware and wait for direction, then obediently act on that direction. However, we are leaving the rest up to Him. And when you leave it to Him, there are no limits to the greatness you can receive in life.

Knowing this, why not take some time and pray to God, communicating your needs and desires. Be sure to thank Him for what you already have, and for what’s to come. Then acknowledge that all is in His hands and in His control, and ask for what you are seeking. In one way or another you will find it. Enjoy the blessings : )

5 Responses to Why Do We Even Have To Ask In Prayer?

  1. The greatest blessing men could ever have is the privilege to PRAY, that we ought not to take for granted. Thank you so much for this reminder Sir Joe 🙂 more blessings ahead!

    • joedalio says:

      Thanks for the comment, Mae! You added something important I failed to mention…that indeed prayer is a privledge that we need to cherish and take full advantage of : )

  2. […] Why Do We Even Have To Ask In Prayer? (powerofpies.wordpress.com) […]

  3. […] ironic that He already knows what you need and is well aware of your deepest desires. Yet He wants you to ask anyway. It keeps you in communication with Him and acknowledges your dependence on Him. In your own power […]

Leave a Reply

