A Writing Dream Realized

Isn’t it always wonderful when you can check something off the bucket list? I had one such moment last night, and I am still feeling the high of it today.

I have been writing publicly for 5 years through various blogs. A few years ago I completed my first e-book, which was a major accomplishment in itself. However, it mostly sat on a site unnoticed as I hadn’t yet figured out the strategies to market and sell it. Life got busier, so I just put it on the shelf for a while, then posted it publicly for free to receive feedback and to use it to help others. I was told by several people whose opinions I value highly that this book should be published and sold. Once again I looked into taking this route.

A couple of months ago I took the time to research how to make this happen. Extra time was still short, but I arrived at the point where nothing was going to get in the way of making this happen. I realized how easy it was to get this e-book published on major platforms like Amazon, Barnes and Noble, etc. Or was it? This un-technically savvy person struggled to get even the basics down, and was stuck again. I got so frustrated that once again, the publishing dream was put on hold. I must say that I am not one to give up easily. I had other important things in life to tend to and didn’t always have the full opportunity and time to spend pursuing this. However, where I often go wrong is that I am slow to ask for help. Many people around me are less technical than I am, so using their help was not an option. However, I waited way to long to find and solicit others.

Finally, a few weeks ago I was introduced to a site called Fiverr. It’s a site where people will perform any type of service for $5. I checked it out, and sure enough found someone who was willing to do all the formatting and technical adjustments that I couldn’t do for $5. Someone else at another site had offered $40, but I didn’t have that extra in my budget at that time, so I held off. A $5 price was a steal. The quality of work I received was top-notch, and my problems were solved.

When my book formatting “passed the test”, it was very easy to complete the publication process. Now, as I write this, my dream of being a published author has come true.

I share this as a reminder that dreams can always come true. Sometimes it takes a little longer than it should, but it can happen if you have faith and persistence.

If you would like to check out the finished product, you can click on the link below to the sales page which includes a link to the e-book.

30 Days To A More Powerful Life

Here’s to hoping your dreams come true as well. Enjoy the blessings : )

6 Responses to A Writing Dream Realized

  1. Yelena says:

    That sounds like a really helpful resource once I get to that step in my writing process. Thanks for sharing and good luck with the rest of your publishing journey. 🙂

    • joedalio says:

      Thank you, Yelena! One of the reasons I share this info is to help others accomplish their goals. If there’s anything else i can do to help please let me know.Thanks for letting me know my prayers were answered : )

  2. NoemiFairy says:

    Hi! I have nominated you for The Versatile Blogger Award!
    For more info, see my post: http://noemifairy.com/2013/09/06/the-versatile-blogger-award/ Regards

  3. Congrats Joedalio as your blog was one of the first blog I start following and you always have good material, so I know that we will enjoy reading your e-book.

    • joedalio says:

      Thank you,Richard. I very much appreciate your positive comment. I continue to receive much excellent information from your blog as well. Have a wonderful day : )

Leave a Reply

