Life Is Ironic…Don’t You Think?

Yes, I’m stealing part of a line from the Alanis Morissette song. It’s one of my favorite songs ever, and I hum it often, especially as I live through the ironies that this life brings us.

What’s the irony for me now? I’m a teacher on summer vacation. This is the time I dream about all year. It’s the time I have the freedom to focus more on my passions that I can’t do as much during the school year, like this blog for example. I am so happy with how this blog has grown and the positive impacts it has had on people (thank you for sharing those impacts, by the way). So with this time, I can take it to a totally higher level, right?

It hasn’t worked out that way. In fact, I’ve spent less time here and doing other hobbies in these past few weeks than I have during my busiest times of school. I will say that, as good it has been to have this free time, this summer vacation has been a struggle. I won’t get into detail, but things have caused a strain with my wife, finances, etc, and I have felt an unusual level of frustration.

At this point, my regular readers are saying…but wait a minute…don’t you preach positive thinking, mind power, high emotion, faith, etc on this site? How can you be talking about difficulty and frustration? I will say that those things happen to the best of us, even the most positive optimistic people. God says ALL of us WILL have trials and obstacles in life. I’ve had a period where I’ve had to face a few more.

Here is where the irony lies….even though I am struggling and have been down and frustrated at times, IT’S ALL GOOD! As things things are happening, I am seeing how some of the pieces are starting to fit together. I am seeing that these obstacles are taking me closer to my goals instead of bringing me away from them. That’s where positive thinking and faith come in.

If you are struggling now and feel like the accomplishment of your goals is nowhere in sight, I challenge you to have faith. Try and see how the obstacles now are actually setting you up for success. Something that helps me is to think of past obstacles or difficult situations. Think of how you got through them, and how certain events were actually setting you up for the success you were looking for. Then have the faith of knowing that the same thing is happening for you now.

I apologize to my regular readers who have come here looking for uplifting information lately, only to find another blank each day. It is my goal to write here most days, but the other distractions have taken me away from that. However, I hope this inspires you today. Obstacles are unavoidable, but if you maintain positive thoughts and demonstrate faith, you will know that it is all for your good, and actually taking you where you want to go if you simply allow it. I look forward to writing again soon. Have an excellent day!

2 Responses to Life Is Ironic…Don’t You Think?

  1. Steve Lakey says:

    Joe, there is nothing to apologize for. You have a great back catalogue to browse for uplifting articles! I’m sure that the inspiration you send out will return to you when needed.
    Best wishes, Steve

Leave a Reply

