Faithful Consequences

I very much enjoy listening to popular preachers, and I have learned a great deal from them. One of my favorite’s has always been Charles Stanley. He is full of wise statements based on God’s Word.

I was reminded of something he said that grabbed my attention when I first heard it year’s ago, and it has stuck with me for years. His message is this…have faith, obey God, and let Him take care of the consequences.

What’s the big deal with that, you may ask? Many human beings try to have faith. They want to do the right thing and take action towards achieving their goals and desires. However, many don’t take action and fail to reach their goals simply because of fear of what might happen. For example, I once knew a woman who was overweight, and wanted to lose weight and improve her overall appearance. It was a strong desire, but nagging fears held her back. For example, she was afraid that some people would think differently of her and would not accept her new look. She was afraid that she might receive unwanted advances from guys she wasn’t interested in, something she hadn’t had to deal with in her current situation.

This is a minor example, but it is a clear example how we sometimes avoid moving forward, even when we strongly believe God is prompting us to do so. This is simply because we fear what might happen.

I will say that it’s not the end of the world if you don’t follow through and let your fears get the best of you. You are simply robbing yourself of major blessings and potential miracles, that’s all. Think about it though. What if Moses continued to tell God that he wasn’t good enough to lead the people out of Egypt? What if David thought going against Goliath would be too difficult? What if Jesus’s disciples listened to those who forbade them to spread the word of Christianity? How ordinary and purposeless their lives would have been! Where would we be today?

I can’t downplay these fears. After all, sometimes obeying God’s call will cause consequences. You may lose friends. It may cause family problems. It can cause loneliness and initial difficulties. However, please know that God’s plan is always the best plan, and even though you may have these difficulties and obstacles initially, know that you will win in the long run. And you won’t just win by a point or two. You will be blessed beyond what you could have ever expected if you faithfully follow through with God’s call and whatever desire you believe He has planted in your heart.

Which consequence would you rather have…some initial resistance from other people and initial obstacles, or the consequence of knowing that you missed a major opportunity to add greatness and blessing to your life, all because you were afraid of what might happen?

I will say again that I understand your fears, especially because I’ve been there many times myself. However, I  challenge you to live in faith. Know that if God is for you, no one can be against you. Know that if He has something great set up for you (remember, He promises that He has great plans of blessing and prosperity for you),  He will handle any consequences that come your way because of it. Have faith in that promise, and move forward with the confidence that great things are on their way in your life. Enjoy the blessings : )

4 Responses to Faithful Consequences

  1. batangaer says:

    But live in faith is same dificult as live without it. Im feeling it in my days lately. I think its better to live life in a balance, i mean we need faith and good thought.

    • joedalio says:

      Thank you for the excellent comment. I like what you say about faith and good thought. In fact, I strongly believe good thought helps create greater faith : )

  2. Tammie says:

    Greetings from Ohio! I’m bored to tears at work so I decided to browse your blog on my iphone during lunch break. I love the information you present here and can’t wait to take a look when I get
    home. I’m amazed at how quick your blog loaded on my cell phone .. I’m not even using WIFI,
    just 3G .. Anyways, fantastic blog!

Leave a Reply

