A New Look On Faith

I have read through the entire Bible several times. There are some stories and verses that it has taken me several times to read before I fully understood their message.

I was reading one such chapter today. My one year Bible reading took me to Romans 4. It talks about Abraham and how he was extremely faithful. I’ve always read this with the attitude that I already know about Abraham and his faithful deeds. What can I learn from this?

First I will say this…when you ask God “what can I learn” be prepared for an answer. He loves providing new knowledge! As I opened myself for this knowledge today, I certainly received a new enlightenment.

If you are looking for a definition of what faith is, I will point out some details from this Bible chapter that describes part of Abraham’s story. First of all, he was promised by God that his offspring would be like the number of stars in the sky. God asked him to move to another land and do other things to make it happen. Abraham did those things even though he didn’t see the outcome yet. In fact, he didn’t even have any kids yet.

Speaking of kids, there was an issue with that. His wife couldn’t have any, and he was 100 years old. So how could he have descendants like the number of stars? I believe the key comes in verse 20. It says…he did not waver through unbelief regarding the promise of God, but was strengthened in his faith and gave glory to God, being fully persuaded that God had the power to do what He had promised.

As it turned out, because of this great faith, this 100 year old man was able to conceive a child through his barren wife who was well past the age of child bearing herself. As it turned out, the descendants of an entire nation can be traced to this one man. Why? All simply because he fully believed that God had the power to do what He promised. He then followed through and took action in the power of that promise.

If you are looking to build your faith, or get a better understanding of what faith is, I can think of no better example than this one. Please know that God delivers on His promises. One Bible verse says God has nothing but great and prosperous plans for you. Another says all you have to do is ask in prayer, and He provides great and wonderful gifts for His children. Another says all things are possible if you believe. There are tons more.

I challenge you now to be fully persuaded that God has the power to follow through on these promises, even though you can’t yet see the successful outcome. He can do it in anyone’s life, including yours. Follow this example of the great man of God who was blessed because he believed this concept. I have faith that God will provide blessings beyond your belief. Have an excellent day!

Leave a Reply

