A Cheerful Way To Heal Yourself

I have always believed that God is the ultimate healer. I still do. However, the longer I live, the more I realize that we hold a great deal of power with our health, and the ability to maintain and heal ourselves.

I was reminded of this fact as I read through Proverbs yesterday. My study took me to verse 17:22 which simply says..”a cheerful heart is good medicine, but a crushed spirit dries up the bones”. The New English translation specifically says that a cheerful heart brings healing. If you want to take it one step further, The Message version says “a cheerful disposition is good for your health, while gloom and doom leave you bone-tired”.

Do you believe that your mood and outlook on your life has an impact on your health? These are words from God Himself, which makes it very obvious to me that the way I think and feel emotionally directly impacts how I feel physically. The above verse is directly from God, but I know it is true from my own experience. When I allow myself to get stressed and too busy, I feel very run down and never seem to have the energy I need. It’s these times where I am most likely to get sick. When my thoughts and emotions are positive, it doesn’t matter how much there is to get done. I can complete any task with plenty of energy to spare.

I recommend you focus on this verse today. Are you not feeling your best? Are you tired, run down, or feeling the aches and pains of life? Whether any of those are true, or if you are feeling good and simply looking to maintain your strength, do all you can to maintain a cheerful disposition. Besides the health and energy benefits, all other aspects of your life will be affected as well. You will get along better with others. You will put yourself in a position to receive good fortune. You will feel closer to God, and your faith will increase. I can go on and on.

If you didn’t already, do you now believe you have the power to heal yourself and maintain excellent health and energy? The simple exercise of putting a smile on your face and maintaining a positive, cheerful frame of mind is the best medicine there is. It’s free and you can’t overdose on it. Enjoy the blessings : )

 

2 Responses to A Cheerful Way To Heal Yourself

  1. […] A Cheerful Way To Heal Yourself (powerofpies.wordpress.com) […]

  2. […] is the golden ticket to happiness? Almost everyone I know wants to find it. As I pondered the answer to this question it came to me […]

Leave a Reply

