A Funny Way To Produce A Natural High

It would be great if we could put ourselves in a constant state of high emotion, wouldn’t it? The good news is that we all have the ability to accomplish this.

There are many different things we can do to maintain a high, positive emotional state. One of the greatest in my opinion is laughter. Don’t you always feel better and more positive after a great laugh? It is even medically proven that certain chemicals are released in the body as a result of laughter, and even just smiling. Knowing that we have control of the state of our emotions, and laughter makes us feel better and happier…what are you waiting for?

I understand things get busy in life, and there are times where things get so difficult that you are in absolutely no mood to smile and laugh. I have reflected at times and realized I haven’t laughed much or at all in a period of several days or more. However, I have learned that there is always room for laughter, and that we simply cannot let days go by without it, regardless of the circumstances. In fact, consistent laughter is a great way to change many of the circumstances in life.

As I thought about this, I came up with 3 main ways to increase the amount of laughter in my life:

  1. Remember old funny times – I often look back at some of the funniest moments in life. It brings back pleasant memories, and it’s a great way to get to a positive state of mind.
  2. Find and watch funny things now – There are scenes from some of my favorite TV shows (Honeymooners, Happy Days, All in the Family, Seinfeld, The Office) that I can watch over and over and still convulse in laughter. In addition, with the availability of YouTube and other video sources, there are countless clips you can watch from movies, comedians, or wherever. I recommend you seek the ones you like, then watch and laugh.
  3. Use your imagination – Some think I’m a bit crazy for this one, but as a kid I would often imagine funny situations that never actually happened, but had me laughing breathlessly. Think you can’t do this as an adult? Once I was overly tense for a job interview. I needed something to break the tension. On my way there, I thought of a very funny “what if” situation and laughed heartily all the way there (if that was you in the car next to me, I swear I am really not crazy). As a result, I was very loose and positive for the interview and aced it. I believe it’s one of the reasons I got that first teaching job.

It is totally true that laughter is the best medicine. The good thing is that it’s free, limitless, and you can’t overdose on it. I strongly recommend you use it. Your attitude will be positive, and your emotions will run high. When your mind is positive and your emotions are at their highest, there is no stopping you. Miracles will occur, and you will be laughing all the way to the bank. Enjoy the blessings : )

4 Responses to A Funny Way To Produce A Natural High

  1. sharybary says:

    One snake said to the other,”Are we poisonous?” The other snake said “Why?” First snake says, “I just bit my tongue!”

  2. As you wake up and open your eyes in the morning, try to have a big smile and thank God for another blessed day. No matter how tired or lazy you feel and even when you have bad dreams, just SMILE, take a deep breath and pray. It makes a difference. #justsharing thanks forr this reminder Joe..:)

    • joedalio says:

      Thank you for adding this priceless info! In addition, it was once suggested to me to start my day being thankful for as many things as I can think of. I’ve done this ever since, and it makes a great difference. Now I will be sure to do it with a smile : )

Leave a Reply

