The Value Of A Holiday Time Out

It is amazing how refreshing and valuable a simple one day holiday can be. Here in the U.S. we celebrated Memorial Day on Monday. It is labeled the unofficial start to summer. I enjoyed a beautiful, relaxing weekend with my own family, along with my parents, siblings, nephews, and nieces.

This holiday allowed only one extra day off from my stress-filled job. However, it feels like I’ve had an entire week. Just this short time away from all the negativity has completely energized me, cleared my head of the negative cloud, and has me thinking once again that I can accomplish anything.

This all leads me to the point of this post. That is…why wait for the next holiday? I will provide some advice that I’ve written about regularly, yet sometimes get so caught up in the rat race that I forget it myself. The key is to take several mental time-outs throughout the day. When you take these short breaks and get away from the business and any negativity you may encounter, it has the same energetic effect as the day off I described. When you take those short mental time-outs, it helps you re-charge, re-focus, and fill your mind with positive, empowering thoughts. Even when it’s just for a few minutes, it can have amazing effects.

Here’s an example…during my lunch period, I would spend time grading or planning, and doing as much school work I could cram in during that time. Now I have learned to take that time period to write, read, pray, or whatever I feel moved to do at that time. I may not be getting as much done at that time, but it actually makes me more productive as the day goes on. This is because my mind is refreshed, and it is filled with positive thoughts. I have a greater faith that I will succeed, and my tasks are done with a much more positive mind-set. I try to do this throughout the day as well. There are times when I only have an extra minute, but it does wonders when I take that minute to take a few deep breaths, thank God for the successes of the day, and know that God’s presence is as close as that breath I take.

I challenge you to take that “holiday” break as much as you can during the day. You will make every day feel like a holiday because the day will get easier and more positive. After all that’s the way a holiday should be…easy and positive. Enjoy the blessings : )

2 Responses to The Value Of A Holiday Time Out

  1. I have learned this lesson a long time ago too and I’ve turned my breaks at work into reading God’s Word or praying instead of checking social media or working on my to do’s and it makes such a huge difference in how I approach the rest of my day!

    It’s so important to make time for one-on-one time with God not only in the morning’s and night’s but also throughout the day.

    • joedalio says:

      Anna,

      Thank you for adding that very important element about finding time to read God’s word. I make time each day to meditate on selected readings. It’s another great way to add positive energy and inspiration to your day and I highly recommend it : )

Leave a Reply

