A Breakdown Of What Faith Really Is

Every once in a while I like to take words that are important for positive and abundant living, and break them down to their most basic parts. It’s a very helpful exercise. For example, I’ve been concentrating on increasing my faith lately. I decided to break it down, and it is amazing what I came up with. I gladly share this information with you.

I have always been familiar with the Biblical definition of faith, so I start with that. Hebrews 11:1 defines faith as the assurance of things hoped for, and the evidence of things unseen. That definition is enough to really make one think, but I took it a step further and was amazed. When I defined the word assurance, this is what I found…A positive declaration intended to give confidence; a promise. It adds…Confidence or certainty in one’s own abilities. These words are definitely encouraging. I took it one step further and defined hopefulness. The simple definition I found was “joyful expectation”.

When I put it all together, it sounds like this. Being confident and certain that the things I joyfully expect will come to pass. I positively declare this as a promise from God.

Wow! When faith is broken down this way, it shed a whole new light on the topic! If you are trying to increase your faith and take it to the next level, I believe you have just found the key. Start with a joyful expectation that the things you desire will come to pass. Then be confident and certain that it will!

I can read some of your minds right now. You want to know how do I do this? One way that works great is to visualize the success you are seeking. Spend time imagining how much better your life will be as if you already have what you desire. See yourself in this new life and live as if it’s already yours. Another suggestion is to pray and meditate whenever you can. This closeness with God always increases your confidence in what you have come to joyfully expect. These are only two ways. If there is anything else that works for you, please do it.

The Bible and today’s society are filled with stories about how great things were accomplished with simple faith. For example, in sports inferior teams sometimes win championships simply because they are confident and expect to win regardless of what the “experts” say. Many miracles happen because people have confidence in God’s promises and expect to see His great work in their lives.

I challenge you today to focus on this definition of faith and live it out. Joyfully expect your goals to be met and your dreams to come true. Be confident that they will come to pass. You’ll be amazed how your faith will grow, and your life will change dramatically. I’ve seen it happen in my own life and in many others. If you have any suggestions about what you do to increase your faith, I encourage you to share. In the meantime, enjoy the blessings of this great day : )

6 Responses to A Breakdown Of What Faith Really Is

  1. “Many miracles happen because people have confidence in God’s promises and expect to see His great work in their lives” ~ Amen! 🙂

    • joedalio says:

      Very true. The best part is that those miracles can happen in our own lives. I like what you say..”when we EXPECT to see His great work. Thanks for the excellent words : )

  2. Great post Joe! I think I will set some time aside to meditate on God and visualise my life if the things I am trusting Him for will come to pass. Thank you!

    • joedalio says:

      Thank you! I’m sure you do it on a regular basis, but doesn’t it feel amazing after meditating and visualizing? The challenge is finding the time to do it, and of course fully trusting Him : ) Have an awesome day!

  3. Malika says:

    Please accept this Award
    
> Very Inspiring Blogger Award 
<
    http://therealmalika.com/2013/05/08/very-inspiring-blogger-award/
    I hope you can give this award to someone else deserving.
Thank you, and well done!

    Malika

Leave a Reply

