Who Do You Think You Are?

I was reminded the other day of a conversation I had with someone at a part time job I worked at. We talked about Christianity and our confidence in the goodness and power of God. The main theme of the conversation for each of us was “I know who I am”. What we meant is that we knew we were beautiful, powerful, and awesome creations of our God.

I didn’t enjoy this job very much. It was a job I was doing in addition to my teaching job in order to make some extra money to pay off our mountain of debt. It was rather insulting when someone half my age and education level would look down on me because I didn’t do this petty job as well as they did. Each time my friend and I would have a negative experience at this job, we always had our faithful line to fall back on. We would look at each other and say, “I know who I am.”

Do you really know who you are? I’m sure you know your name and all of your bad habits. But have you ever looked beyond that and learned who you really are? Whether you believe it or not, you are a direct creation of the God of the universe. Of the God who created everything. Better yet, His spirit dwells in you and is a part of you.

Do you think God would ever give up on something He created and is a part of? I don’t think so. I read a quote from a website that says, “You are part of the infinite ocean of pure potential where all things are possible. You also are an Energy Being, an individualized vibration of God”. (http://www.essential-practices.com/remember.html)

With God, all things are possible. This power of all possibility is part of you. Knowing this, you can do the following two things to dramatically alter your life:

1. Focus on this connection as much as possible. Whether things are going smoothly, or are difficult, remember that you are a divine creation, and part of that endless power and energy.

2. Begin thinking like the Godly spirit that is within you. God thinks in terms of love, service, power, and endless possibility. Act in this Godly way, and see things from this perspective. Instead of procrastinating because of fear, you will take inspired action to achieve your goals and help others achieve theirs. Instead of going against the flow in your job, finances, relationships, etc., you will go with the flow of the Spirit and be carried to the place where you can serve and do the things to turn your life from bad to good, or good to great.

I will ask you again…who are you? Do you see yourself as inferior and without the faith to live your dream life? Or are you a person who knows the Godly power within you and thinks on its wavelength to create greatness in life? I’ve learned from experience that the second option is best. Do I still have disappointments and defeats? Of course I do. However, I get over them much quicker because I know my Creator is more than ready to pick me up and help me get going again. That power is mine. I know who I am : )

3 Responses to Who Do You Think You Are?

  1. […] and more that God is not just someone on the outside that we beckon when we need him, but instead God is part of us and we are part of Him. He is this great treasure and this light shining in our […]

  2. […] you are BEING a Christian you know exactly who you are. You know that the Spirit of God dwells within you. Instead of living in an inhibited manner […]

Leave a Reply

