Why Are People So Happy?

The above title is indeed an interesting question. The answer is an obvious one, right? People are happy because they are lucky and they’ve been given many great things in life. It’s all chance, right?

If you know me well enough, you know my answer to that response would be…WRONG!!! Happiness is not because of luck or good breaks. The happiest people are that way simply because they choose to be. There’s no luck or chance involved. They simply see the best in all situations, and make the choice that they are going to be happy no matter what.

You may be saying…”come on, that’s it? There must be more! Ok, I agree. There is more. I read a very interesting article today that actually lists common characteristics of happy people. These include being thankful and healthy, being able to stay mentally active, laugh, and forgive, and spending time with other happy people. It all certainly makes sense to me.

The bottom line is that happiness is not a random thing that only happens when things go well. It is a choice, a habit, and a way of being. I challenge you to make the conscious decision to be happy. I understand that sometimes circumstances and people make it difficult. However, you can still choose to see the bright side of things, and keep a smile on your face as much as possible. I know from experience that there’s no greater way to live.

I have included a link to the full article mentioned above. I suggest you check out the list and see how you measure up and how many of the common characteristics you possess. Have a wonderful day : )

http://johnderrick.com/self_improvement/healthy-lifestyle/healthly-tips/things-happy-people-have-common/

13 Responses to Why Are People So Happy?

  1. sharybary says:

    You’ve done it again! Thanks for the encouraging word today!

  2. So true! Around thanksgiving last year I made a conscious effort to write down the things I was grateful for every day and I think I was happier that month than any other because I actually took the time to remember the good things happening in my life and the things I could be grateful for. Sometimes circumstances make it easier to be happy but in the end you can choose to be joyful even in the hardest situations of life. Thanks for the reminder!

    • joedalio says:

      Thank you for your wonderful comment! I read a book where it had me write 10 things I was thankful for every day for a month. Like you, I was happier than normal that month for the same reasons you mention. Have an excellent day : )

  3. Carrie Lange says:

    I love how you always remind me to practice and work at being happy! thank you 😉

    • joedalio says:

      Thank you for reading : ) It’s great that, the more you practice, the more natural it becomes. I certainly hope the information presented here continues to put a smile on your face : )

  4. Ellie says:

    So right! I am a happy person who chooses to be happy! I know where I will ultimately wind up (heaven) so what can man do to me? I’m really not a Pollyanna . . . I do face discouragement sometimes too, but even though they can steal a momentary amount of happiness, I’ll never allow someone to steal my joy! That comes from within. Blessings,

    • joedalio says:

      Ellie, Thank you for these these great words! People and circumstances can only steal our joy if we let them. Discouragement and trials are inevitable, but when me choose happiness they are indeed only momentary. Have an excellent day!

  5. “HAPPINESS is knowing God’s sustaining grace in suffering and living for Him regardless of what life demands. – Pastor AMB” — just want to add and share this thought.:)

    It is Christ Who gave us that “choice” where to focus, on Him that’s full of certain hopes and promises, or with life’s uncertainty and world’s vagueness. Being with Christ is enough for each and everyone of us to be happy. 🙂 Thanks for this.♡

    • joedalio says:

      Thank you! These words and thoughts you added are priceless. What you discuss is using the gift of the free will that Christ provides. Choosing happiness and faith is using that gift responsibly. And as you say, just being with Christ is enough to make us all happy : )

  6. Reblogged this on The Positive Thinking Institute and commented:
    Great perspective!

Leave a Reply

