Helpful Advice To Reach Your Goals

The other night I listened to teleconference where a friend of mine was interviewed. She just published her first book, and shared details about it, as well as her background, and some other information.

At the end of the interview, listeners were invited to ask questions or provide comments. Since I am an aspiring author with limited time at the moment, I asked how she budgeted her time, and what advice she could provide about getting things done with limited time to work with. Her response was extremeley helpful. She said nothing earth-shattering, yet it was timeless, logical advice that I feel the need to share.

The advice she shared was to do a little bit each day. Even if it’s just a paragraph a day, a little bit of progress is better than nothing. It keeps you going in the right direction, and eventually your progress snowballs into the success you are seeking.

I am the type of person that sometimes becomes frustrated if things don’t happen right away. Often times if I am not able to build Rome in a day, I tend to give up and think it’s not possible. Then I fail to act, and the goal does not get accomplished. However, according to my friend’s advice, it doesn’t have to be built in a day. Slow and steady wins the race, and as long as a little bit of progress is made, I am going in the right direction.

If you are having difficulty moving towards your goal, I recommend this advice to you. You don’t have to do it all today. Just do as much as you can. Even if it’s a small piece of the puzzle, if you keep connecting the pieces, it will eventually come togather.

I’ve read it in several places…do all you can do today to get closer to the goal. Perhaps today is the day you accomplish it. If not, you are at least that much closer to it. It’s much better than sitting idle and frustrated because you don’t see the possibility of it being done.

I understand that time doesn’t sit still for us, and most of us would say we don’t have enough of it. However, even if it’s just a few minutes, do something that will bring you closer to the success you are seeking. It’s amazing that, when you do your part, God does His and works in amazing ways that we can’t even imagine. Your efforts, as small as they are, will be honored and rewarded.

Please don’t be frustrated by lack of time. Use whatever of it you have, and take the small steps necessary to reach your great success. You will be thanksful you did. Enjoy the blessings : )

4 Responses to Helpful Advice To Reach Your Goals

  1. sharybary says:

    This is really helpful!

  2. Sarah says:

    A very good reminder. Especially for those of us who love to procrastinate 🙂

    • joedalio says:

      Thank you! I hate to procrastinate, though I still do it more than I care to admit. The advice that was provided by my friend has helped me a lot. I hope it helps you too : )

Leave a Reply

