What Are You Talking About?

Does it really matter what comes out of your mouth? Seriously, do words make any difference at all? I am learning more and more that words definitely make a difference.

There are several Bible verses that back this up. I was recently reminded of my favorite one recently…do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouth, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it would benefit those who listen (Ephesians 4:29).

What should we say? To me it’s very simple. Don’t waste your words! Also, avoid saying anything that would bring someone down. I understand that sometimes we need to tell someone things they don’t want to hear. However, there are ways of doing it that will not tear them down. The verse says specifically to use words that will build others up. Compliments and thanks come to mind (please be careful to avoid false flattery though). Also according to the verse, carefully thought out words that would be helpful to anyone who hears them would be considered the right ones to use.

In addition to using the right words towards others, I have been reminded often lately that we must also use the right words for ourselves. We should not be tearing ourselves down with negative self talk, but instead should be using positive words to build ourselves up. I will end with the words a guest speaker at our church left with us a few weeks ago…my mouth makes me miracles or my mouth makes me miserable. From my experience, it is far better to take the first option and follow the advice from the Ephesians verse. You and those around you will be much better for it. Enjoy the blessings : )

9 Responses to What Are You Talking About?

  1. sharybary says:

    Exactly my thoughts! Thanks!

  2. lisettedefoe says:

    I tried responding to your comment, but am still new on WordPress, trying to figure out how it works with communicating… ๐Ÿ˜‰ I was saying, thank you for the encouragement, I know your blog is highly valuable also. I have another blog at lisettedefoe.blogspot.com on the same topic of journaling. Not sure if my comment to you went through… :-/ Be blessed

    • joedalio says:

      Funny how I tried to send a response and I’m not sure it went through : ) I received your comment and very much appreciate you visiting and commenting. It means a lot : )

      • lisettedefoe says:

        No prob. I hope this one works now…I see a ‘reply’ button now under your response… ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. sharybary says:

    I received your E-book and had trouble with my printer so I am just now finally getting to print it. I prefer to have pages in hand some times instead of using only devices to read. Old-fashioned like that! Just wondered if you have planned to do hard copies through CreateSpace.com and Amazon? I don’t know much about it, but you should definitely be widely published and you should have a way we can pay for your books. I appreciate a freebie of course, but there is tremendous value in what you have written. I would be ordering copies as gifts to friends! Thanks so much. Let me know your plans for further publication. I have a few plans of my own and feel you are light years ahead of me.

    • joedalio says:

      First I will say that I am absolutely touched and honored by your comment. I had intended to publish this book, but didn’t have the marketing know-how to do so. In the meantime I felt the need to share it with as many people as possible. It is my goal that it would help many people take their lives to a higher level.

      I am in the process of writing another book as well. I certainly appreciate your suggestions and will pursue them to hopefully get the books published. It is my goal to write professionally and inspire thousands/millions of others through my writing.

      I would love to compare notes, progress, etc with you. Please feel free to e-mail me, and I’m sure we can help each other out. Thank you again. Your kind words mean the world to me : )

  4. greekgirl777 says:

    Wonderful words of encouragement!

Leave a Reply

