A High Percentage Way To Increase Your Personal Power

I was reading a blog the other day. The author was lamenting the fact that, due to their busy schedule and some other things going on, they had very little time to spend in prayer and in the presence of God. I was impressed that this person even calculated it by the hour, saying they were spending an average of 4% of their day in God’s presence.

I was impressed with the detail and careful thought this author provided. That was until I thought of my own life. I realized my percentage wasn’t dramatically higher. I do have specific times that I spend in prayer, and I pay attention to the reminder’s of God’s presence. However, I realized that I don’t do it enough. As I did my own calculations, I realized my daily percentage is only around 10-15%.

We are all busy people, and our lives tend to go in many different directions each day. However, I believe we can all find more time to cherish God’s presence and power in our life. In fact, we are commanded to do so. “Seek first the kingdom and righteousness of God, and all other things will be added to you” (Matthew 6:33).

What exactly is seeking the kingsom? From my own research and study over a period of time, I found a simple definition. It is simply focusing on the Spirit and Power of God. Instead of focusing on our limited knowledge and ability, focus on His all-knowing, all-loving, and ever present power. Do this as much as you can during the entire day. It makes a world of difference. It’s simple. The more you seek Him first, the more power and success you will experience.

I realize that it is not easy to constantly focus our attention on one thing, especially when we have so many different challenges around us. However, focusing first on God and His righteousness will give us the power to not only take on the challenges, but conquer them.

After reading that article, I decided to set a goal. My goal is to take my percentage of God seeking time from 10-15% to 75-80%. I am awake for about 16 hours a day. That would be a strong awareness of His presence for 12 of those 16 hours. That takes into account parts of my day that are non-stop, and when my work is most intense. That takes into account times where my mind is simply out of focus. Also, I am not saying that I need to be in constant awareness for the entire hour. Even if I can say for a good part of that time that I was consciosly aware of God’s power in and around me, I can count that towards my total.

Some may think this system is too artificial and forced. Perhaps it is. However, the more you do it, the more natural it becomes. Soon it will be automatic, and when you begin reaping the benefits, you will strive even more for the constant awareness of God’s presence and power.

Just as I challenge myself to take on this challenge, I also challenge my readers. I know that being aware of God’s presence and power empowers me. That is because I’ve experienced it in my life. My greatest struggles come at the times I realize my focus has been away from the Spritual power within me. Take as much time as you can to experience God’s presence. I’m not talking about hours at a time hidded in a closet praying away from everyone else. Instead, just an acknowledgement of His presence during some down time, thanking Him for your blessings while showering or putting your make-up on, 0r simply cherishing His company as you do your favorite activity. It’s really not complicated.

I really believe you will cherish this time with your Creator and seek more of it. You will be empowered and joyful, and you will see all areas of your life take shape, most likely the way you want them to. Please share your results. I will do the same. Enjoy the blessings : )

4 Responses to A High Percentage Way To Increase Your Personal Power

  1. Steve Lakey says:

    Very inspiring post. I believe it’s important to stay connected with our Creative Source, and feel gratitude for the abundance in our lives, on all levels.

  2. Nadyess says:

    Wonderful post and very true! Sometimes we do loose our focus and yes , we can be thankful with such a wonderful post like this as a reminder. Thanks a lot for sharing!!

Leave a Reply

