An Extremely Helpful Visualization Technique

I have to admit, I have some quirky habits. One is that I am very good at remembering exact months and years that songs were popular. I can hear most songs and pinpoint it almost exactly. Some nights I enjoy listening to songs and deliberately putting myself back to that time in my life. I spend the three minutes or so visualizing the detail…what was I doing, who was I with, what was I watching on tv, where was I working or going to school, what was going on in the world, etc. I am very good at clearly re-living those events, and I actually feel like I went back in time for a few minutes. It definitely elevates my mood as well, and I often wake up the next morning with a smile on my face.

As I return now to 2013, many people talk about how creative visualization can help you accomplish your goals and create the life you are seeking. It’s a great idea, but it’s sometimes difficult for people to envision an event that has never occurred. As a result, they get frustrated, say it doesn’t work, etc. This can bring you further from where you want to be.

Visualization is a very helpful technique, and it has helped me develop the confidence I need and take the action necessary to accomplish goals. As mentioned, it’s not always easy to envision a future event. So how can you make it easier? You can practice by envisioning past events. Go back in time to a pleasant memory. Re-live the details. Where were you? How were you feeling? Who were you with? What were you doing? How did it look, feel, sound, taste, and smell?

It’s much easier to envision a past experience, especially a positive one. The key is to do all of those same things as you visualize a goal that you have for today. See it as if it’s happening. Where are you? How are you feeling? Who are you with? What are you doing? How does it look, feel, sound, taste, and smell?

When you live out your dreams in your mind with vivid details, your subconscious mind begins to believe it. It cannot tell the difference between a real and imagined event, so it’s assuming it’s real. This gives you the confidence you need to take the necessary action. Then you begin seeing results in the real world. It only gets better from there.

People say to avoid living in the past. I believe it’s true, we shouldn’t dwell on the past. However, why not use the same tecnhiques for reliving beautiful memories of the past in detail to create your beautiful life of the future and live the details. After all,,,”It’s a Beautiful Life” (Ace of Bass, December 1995).

2 Responses to An Extremely Helpful Visualization Technique

  1. […] An Extremely Helpful Visualization Technique […]

  2. […] An Extremely Helpful Visualization Technique […]

Leave a Reply

