Following The Yield Sign

When I was very young, I quickly became familiar with some of the signs of the road. I wasn’t driving of course, but I was proud to know that the green light meant go, and red meant stop. I learned that the octagon shaped, red sign also meant stop. The yellow signs meant I needed to be cautious of pedestrians, animals, or slippery conditions. However, one sign always confused me. It was that read triangle one that said yield. What does yield mean?, I thought to myself. It was weird. I couldn’t figure it out because sometimes people stopped, sometimes they slowed down, or sometimes they just kept going without changing their speed.

Today I am fully aware of what the yield signs. I learned that it ultimately means giving the right of way. Sometimes I need to stop completely. Somtimes I just need to slow down, and other times I can keep going at pretty much the same speed. However, recently I have learned the importance of yielding  in life. Not so much to other cars, but more to other forces.

What am I talking about? Specifically, I am talking about yielding to God’s power in my life. His power and wisdom is readily available to me. It’s a part of me. It’s part of you. The key is to give it the right of way. We often don’t do that. Life gets so busy and we get so caught up in its fast pace that we go right through the sign. We try to do everything in our own power. However, that often makes things more difficult.

My challenge now is to yield to the true power that is in us. Get out of the way and let God’s power take over. It knows the answers and actions to take. It can accomplish far more than we ever could. It is the power blessings and miracles are made of. Once again, it’s all part of us, waiting to manifest. It’s just a matter of us stepping out of the way and letting it do its work.

I don’t know about you, but I’m done getting in the way of the great power that is in me and wanting to work in my life. It’s time to yield to God’s great power and depend on it instead of relying on my own ego and limited power. I challenge you to do the same. Sometimes you can go ahead, sometimes you need to move slowly, and sometimes you may need to stop completely. The key is to obey the yield sign and yield to the power of God that is part of you. Let it do its great work and watch the miracles take place. You will be blessed in a major way : )

2 Responses to Following The Yield Sign

  1. JD Blom says:

    Excellent perspective. Thanks for sharing!
    JD

Leave a Reply

