The Power Of Intention Statements

Do you have a to-do list? I have learned that it is very helpful to have my plans written down, along with the goals to be accomplished each day. I try as much as I can to do this on a daily basis.

I have become more aware of ways to enhance the quality of life. One that I consistently read about is the concept of intention statements. An intention statement is exactly that..an intention. You say to yourself consistently that you intend to…and fill in the blank with a goal you are seeking to accomplish.

Do these work? I believe they work the same as the to-do list I mentioned earlier. For example, my to-do list for today might say something about grading papers for all of my classes, and picking up a list of items at Walmart. Those are the goals. The list is something that keeps me focused on accomplishing those goals. If I use this as an intention, I can simply say that I intend to grade papers for all of my classes today and I intend to get A, B, and C at Walmart. I’m focused, I do what I need to do, and it gets done.

I am finding more each day that these intentions can be used for far more. They can be used to enhance the quality of your life in all areas. You can say things like..”I intend to spend at least 30 minutes of quality time with my family each day”; “I intend to add positivity and joy to the lives of at least 10 people today”; I intend to earn X dollars this year; I intend to bring my weight to X pounds within two months. These are just a few examples. Some can be general, but the best ones are the ones that are specific and measurable.

Why are intentions so effective? Mainly because intentions help you to keep your focus on the goal instead of the things that pull you away from it. It also makes the goal more believable. The more you repeat your intention, your subconscious mind believes it more and more. With enough repetition, you are convincing yourself that the desired result will take place. Once your subconscious believes something, it’s only a matter of time until you are lead towards manifestation of the goal.

Ultimately what you are doing when you use intention statements is using a glorified to-do list. You are writing down and saying what needs to get done, then you decide what you need to do and do it. It’s as simple as that. So why not put some lofty and ambitious goals on your intention list. Pray for God’s guidance, start moving and acting right away, and experience the joy of your goals being reached. Enjoy the blessings : )

2 Responses to The Power Of Intention Statements

  1. JD Blom says:

    Thank you for sharing; great reminder to be intentional in all that we do but particularly what we say.

Leave a Reply

