A Great Reason To Be Thankful

Thanksgiving here in the U.S. was almost 3 weeks ago, yet the hangover still lingers. I really believe God is trying to tell me something because everywhere I look, the subject of gratitude shows up.

I have many reasons to be grateful in my life, and I must say that I take time to thank God for the blessings I receive. However, as I study further, I find that I am not doing it enough. It’s amazing how many things we have to be thankful for in our lives. Yet how often do we get caught up in the fast pace of life that we accept our victories without acknowledging where our strength and power came from.

In the weeks since Thanksgiving, I have taken deliberate time throughout the day to thank God for even the smallest blessings. Examples are things as small as finding a close parking spot at a busy mall; making all the green lights instead getting stuck at the red ones; How it rained for my whole drive to work, then stopped when it was time for me to get out of the car. Then I thought of other things I take for granted. Things like running, hot water; not only food on my table, but a choice of what that food is; the fact that I have two cars that work well, along with excellent health.

The list can go on and on. Hopefully the same is true for you. I challenge you to look for things, even the smallest ones, that you can give sincere thanks for. When you do, you will maintain a positive attitude, and you will set yourself up for greater blessings.

The clincher for this philosophy came when I was reading a book by Christian Larson called “The Ideal Made Real”. There is a chapter on gratitude, and the author makes the following statement: “the soul that is always grateful lives nearer the true, the good, the beautiful, and the perfect than anyone else in existence, and the more closely we live to the good and the beautiful the more we shall receive of those things” (p. 65).

I don’t know about you, but I want as much as the good and the beautiful as I can get. And if the way to experience those things constantly is to be thankful for my blessings on a regular basis, then count me in. The same is true for you. Be grateful for even the smallest blessings, and you will experience great victories and miracles. That is definitely something to be thankful for. Enjoy the blessings : )

 

Leave a Reply

