A Powerful Equation

I will begin with a quote from Napoleon Hill and the classic book, “Think and Grow Rich”…”All thoughts which have been emotionalized and mixed with faith begin immediately to translate into their physical equivelant”.

It’s a very powerful equation. The more I read about it I find that, if you follow that equation each day, it can be a life changer. It’s a fact that life happens according to the way we think. Positive thinkers are generally successful and happy, while negative thinkers never seem to get ahead.

The powerful component in this equation is emotion. When we fill our mind with positive thoughts, and feel the positive emotions around it, it becomes entrenched in our subconscious mind. And when our subconscious mind believes something, we act out accordingly. If our subconscious mind believes we can accomplish something, even if we weren’t able to before, we can do it!

This happens whether we plan it that way or not. I’ve seen this all too often in my own life. I look back at events in my life where I thought of something, felt the emotion of it, and then experienced it. For example, as a teenageer, I loved watching New York Jets games from Shea stadium. I loved how the fans were so loud that the bleachers actually shook during games. It was their last season at Shea and the last game was coming up. Of course it was sold out, but I imagined how cool it would be to be part of the crowd for that last game. Within days, I received a call from my grandfather saying he just “fell into” tickets to that game. Amazing! When going to college in Upstate New York, I became fascinated with the Toronto Maple Leafs and the city of Toronto. I imagined myself being there, with no intention of getting there any time soon. However, a situation arose where some friends and I were able to get transportation, tickets, and not miss any class time to attend a game. This happened within weeks of my thoughts.

There are plenty of other similar situations. In these cases, I did not deliberately try to attract these situations. They just happened. I’ve discovered that, if these situations can happen “by accident” (even though it was no accident), I have the power to create more of these situations by deliberately imagining and “experiencing” these situations and feeling the positive feelings of actually “being there”.

Our mind is a very powerful thing. When we nurture it by maintaining positive thoughts, and feeling the corresponding emotions of the accomplished goal, wonderful things happen.

Another successful key that the book doesn’t mention is prayer. When we keep our mind and corresponding emotions postive, pray, and leave the details to God, He can do abundantly more than we can ever imagine. He will lead us to opportunites for success according to His will, which indeed is better than anything we can imagine.

The key to doing our part in life is in the opening quote. Use your imagination to envision the ideal situations in all areas of your life. Feel the emotions as if you are already succeeding. Believe it can it will happen. Then look for opportunites to act according to the positive beliefs in your mind, knowing success will be yours. It is a very powerful equation…positive thoughts + positive emotion + faith = SUCCESS!!

Leave a Reply

