The 15 Minute Challenge

I recently posted a time management article about breaking the day down to 15 minute increments to help manage the day more effectively and become more productive. It has been very helpful to me.

I recently read about another similar challenge that I wanted to share. It was from a minister who, in order to keep in close contact with God, made it a challenge to pray for one second out of every minute. As I read this, I thought it was a good challenge. However, it is hard enough for me to keep track of 15 minutes, never mind 1. When I thought of this further, I realized it is only one minute of every hour. I thought, “that’s it?” Only one minute every hour? This is easy to manage, but I thought I could do even better than that.

As presented in my recent post, it is very effective to break the day down to 15 minute chunks. You can manage it effectively, and things get done. I now present another challenge based on the information above. How about, in every one of those 15 minute chunks, taking one minute to stop, say a short prayer, think a wonderful thought, or do anything to connect with God at that moment.

Your next question may now be “does it work”? I will say that, at first, it is not easy to do. Throughout the first days, I missed several of my divine minutes. However, I am finding that by stopping every 15 minutes to connect with my Creator, I am reaping a bundle of benefits and blessings. I feel more peace; I feel much more in control as I know my day is being handled by the all-knowing Creator who looks out or my best interests; Instead of focusing on fears, I am focusing more on the power that is in me and readily available to me. As a result, I am also happier and more confident. I can already see the positive reactions of those around me.

This may seem like a difficult challenge, but the more I work it into my routine the easier it becomes. Do I still get caught up in the busy day and forget? Of course. However, it is becoming the simple truth that the more I follow this guideline, the more I experience the blessings mentioned above.

I now invite you to take this 15 minute challenge. I believe it will increase your days in a positive way. Please share your victories.

Enjoy the blessings : )

Leave a Reply

