A Powerful Self-Talk Technique

It’s always funny when we see someone talking to themself, isn’t it? I think this is mainly because we all do it, and we can all relate. On several occasions I have mentioned the importance of self-talk on this site. As much as we joke about it, I believe it is very important to make a habit of deliberately telling ourselves great things about ourselves. The more our mind hears it, the more it believes it, and the more we act in confidence and faith.

I would like to take this self-talk technique a step further. I read this on a website recently (as well as other places before) and decided to try it. After only a few days, I can already see some dramatic positive effects. The technique is this…instead of just affirming great things, ask yourself a question. That powerful question is, what can I do TODAY that will bring about the desired result? For example, at this time in my life (my mid 40s), I am seeking to be in the best shape of my life.  Instead of just affirming that I am strong, healthy, and in great shape, I need to ask myself what I can do this day to make that happen. I am seeking to be the best husband and father I can be. Instead of just affirming that throughout the day, I can take it a step further by asking what I can do, ALL I can possibly do that day, to make it happen. I am looking to double my income in 2012. Instead of just affirming it, praying it, and visualizing it (all important steps), I need to ask on a daily basis what I can do to make it happen.

This may seem like an overly simple process. However, here’s the cool thing. When we sincerely and prayerfully ask that question, the answer ALWAYS comes. The key is to act on it as soon as it does. Also, there are many occasions where the actions we need to take are very small. We may hesitate when we receive a small answer, and even possibly dismiss it because we are looking for great solutions right away. However, the small action, such as a phone call to reach out to someone, filling out an application, looking up a Bible verse, or doing a small favor, can do wonders and have great impacts. Whatever it is you are inspired to do just do it!

The only drawback I’ve heard from this is that we are doing the work and not allowing God to do His. Yes, I know that sometimes people (definitely me) try to do too much and get in God’s way. Remember though, that although God wants us to faithfully rely on Him, He also expects us to act in obedience to Him. When we ask the question of what we can do to achieve our goal, and listen attentively for the answer, we will receive it. When we act on it, it is simply us doing our part as we pray for God to do His. It’s also a kick in the butt for people like me who are sometimes slow to act, to just do something, and then let God use it for His good.

I challenge you to ask yourself this question daily for whatever goal you have…What can I do TODAY to realize my goal? When you challenge yourself this way, the answer will come. And when you act on that answer, you will see fast results. I’ve seen it myself already after a short time of using this technique. I strongly recommend you try it. Enjoy the blessings : )

P.S. I wanted to share the link where I was presented with this challenge. The information on that website mainly deals with using this technique to increase your income. It will certainly help you do that. However, you can use this technique for any area of your life, whether it’s improving relationships, health, finding a job, or simply enjoying life more. The author also presents another process for helping reach your goals that I also recommend you try. In both cases, I believe this can be a great help to anyone. Enjoy!

http://www.nelsonberrysubliminalblog.com/4-free-subliminal-messages-video-downloads/

2 Responses to A Powerful Self-Talk Technique

  1. Ashley Ormon says:

    Hi Joe!

    This is great. I’m glad you brought this to my attention: to not only speak positive, but to put those words into action. It would seem like we would automatically do this, but we don’t. I guess this is when the saying “to get positive, you have to do positive” comes in. Or, James 2:17 that says faith without works is dead.

    • Joe Dalio says:

      Thank you Ashley for the wonderful comment. It’s funny that the verse you mention was one of the central themes running through my head as I wrote this. Lately I’ve decided it was time to wake up both my faith and my works. The result can only be blessing. Have an excellent day!

Leave a Reply

