Focus On The Power

A humorous scene in A Charlie Brown Christmas is when Charlie goes to Lucy for help. She says he must be afraid of something, so she goes through a list of fears with him. She fails to pinpoint one, until she comes up with pentophobia, which is the fear of everything. Charlie Brown then exclaims…”that’s it!!”

We can laugh at that humorous situation, but unfortunately, the power of fear is real for many of us. Sometimes it is more powerful than we think. It took a conversation with a child for me to figure this out. Several years ago, when my nephew was about 7 years old, he and his family visted. They lived in the country, while I lived on Long Island. We talked throughout the day. He asked why I didn’t spend more time in the country. I said I would, but I was afraid I wouldn’t last too long in the outdoors. He asked why I didn’t have a girlfriend. I’d said I’d ask more girls out, but I was afraid they’d say no. I had a broken hose I was trying to mess with. He asked why don’t I just fix it? I said I was afraid I would make it worse. Finally he says, “Uncle Joe, are you afraid of everything?” 

That question was a wake up call for me. I realized that I couldn’t honestly say no to that question. I was letting fear rule all parts of my life, and many different situations. That conversation was quite a while ago, but I still remember it today, especially if begin to let fear creep into my life.

There is one Bible verse that stands out to help remedy this situation. 2 Timothy 1:7 says..God did not give us a spirit of fear, but a spirit of power, love, and self-control. We need to remember that it is His spirit that lives within us. That spirit is all-powerful, and all-loving. When we are conscious of that fact, fear disappears quickly.

Fear can interfere with our progress in every area of our lives. However, we don’t have to allow it. Focus instead on the powerful Spirit within you and around you, and put your faith in that. Let it lead you. Before you know it, instead of fear and apprehension, you will feel a sense of power and accomplishment. I’ve seen the damage fear can do in my life, and I’ve also seen the rewards that faith and power can bring. Focus on this powerful verse, and you will see it in your own life. Enjoy the blessings : )

3 Responses to Focus On The Power

  1. I wanted to visit and allow you to know how , very much I loved discovering your web site today. I’d personally consider it a great honor to operate at my workplace and be able to use the tips discussed on your site and also engage in visitors’ responses like this. Should a position regarding guest writer become available at your end, please let me know.
    My site is [url=http://cholesteroldiet.blog.fc2blog.net/]Healthy Cholesterol Recipes[/url].

  2. This Blog was most helpful, your ideas are straight to the point, and the colors are cool too.

Leave a Reply

