Stepping Out Of the Ordinary

Ok, I don’t know about you, but I’ve had enough of the average, ordinary life. I am tired of accepting mediocrity, and know it is time to make the serious effort to reach the level of greatness I am seeking.

It’s frustrating to know that great things are close within my reach, but I am still not quite there. Why not? I believe it’s for several reasons. One is that I often don’t follow the excellent advice I’ve learned over the past couple of years about putting positive mind power to work. I believe I am a positive person overall. However, I have not yet perfected the process of putting that positive power to work for me on a consistent basis.

Another reason I feel like I am being held back is that I am listening to too many people. But isn’t it wise to listen to other people? Yes, very much so. However, I am letting what other people say, or worse, what they MIGHT say or think dictate what actions, or lack of action I take. Lately when I read inspirational information that can really help me with my life, there seems to always be someone there putting a damper on it. I will explain shortly.

So how do I remedy the situation? As I was sitting in church today, I realized some things. By the way when I “realize” something in the middle of church, I can almost always take that as God trying to tell me something. I realize that I just need to take God literally at His word when it comes to matters of faith. For example, here are some Bible verses that came to mind: If you believe, you will receive whatever you ask for in prayer (Matt 21:22). Everything is possible for Him who believes (Mark 9:23). You may ask me for anything in my name and I will do it (John 14:14).

These are very inspirational verses. He will do ANYTHING, it says. Yeah, but what about only in His will? Yeah, but now your preaching prosperity gospel. Yeah, but you’re being greedy asking God for too much. Do you know what? I’m done with the “yeah buts”. Yes, I know God’s will is much more important than my agenda. The problem is I often use this as an excuse and fail to act instead of doing so in faith. I don’t know about you, but I don’t see any “prosperity” labels in the gospels of Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John. And the more I read, the more I find out that God WANTS us to keep asking for great things in our lives. In the book of James, it says we have not because we ask not. So why not ask?

As I’ve mentioned, I’m done listening to the doubters and dampers. I am taking God at His word, and praying for big, great things, expecting that He will come through. If something is not in His will, I will gladly step aside and let Him fulfill His better plan for me. It’s up to me to pray and understand His will, and to act and move forward without getting too far out in front of Him. However, if I do, I trust that He will bring me right back to where I need to be.

After all this ( I appreciate you reading this far), you may be asking why I am writing this on a blog that is supposed to be helping people instead of focusing on myself? It’s because I get the feeling there are others like me who are done living the ordinary and are looking for greater things. If that’s the case, I offer the same advice I am taking for myself. Take God at His word. If He says you can ask boldly for anything, than do it! He wants to see your life grow into greatness even more than you do.

The bottom line is I am taking God at His promises and moving out of the ordinary to a life of great adventure and success. Would anyone like to come with me? Have an excellent, blessed day : )

Leave a Reply

