Power Over Fear – Part 2

In my last post, I wrote that we can help ourselves conquer fears by envisioning success, acceptance, or the opposite of whatever we are fearing in our minds.

There is another great idea I wanted to share that has helped me. Here’s an example….when I was a young child, I didn’t have many of the typical childhood fears. I wasn’t afraid of the boogie man coming out of the closet, or afraid of the dark. However, at the age of 14 (yes I said 14), that changed. There was a book I read called “The Amityville Horror” that really shook me up. Besides living 10 minutes from there, the spiritual concept of it seriously scared me. Now, at 14, I was afraid of the dark, and dreaded waking up at 3:15 am, the time all of the bad things in the story occurred.

I was embarrassed to be afraid of the dark at 14 years old. I had to do something about it. I was reading a self-hypnosis book that my father had. It talked about using hypnosis to desensitize ourselves of our fears. What does desensitize mean? It means to imagine yourself doing the things you are afraid of. Consistently see yourself doing those things with nothing negative happening. For my situation, I saw myself going into the dark with nothing bad happening. I saw myself waking up at 3:15 with nothing bad happening. I played this over and over in my mind, until I actually believed that nothing bad would happen while being in the dark or waking up at that dreaded time. Within a week, I was cured of this fear that I had had for several months.

I recommend the same formula for you. Think of your biggest fear. Then, in your imagination, see yourself doing the thing or being in the place that you fear. See yourself succeeding. See that nothing bad is happening. See that the fear is only something you have developed in your own mind. Then let God do His part to help. I am confident that you will gradually see your fears disappearing. Try it. You have nothing to fear : )

2 Responses to Power Over Fear – Part 2

  1. I {|actually|definitely|just|really|simply|truly} wanted to {compose|construct|develop|jot down|make|post|send|type|write|write down} a {|brief|quick|simple|small} {comment|message|note|remark|word} {in order to|so as to|to|to be able to} {appreciate…

    Thank you so much for providing individuals with such a terrific possiblity to discover important secrets from this site. It is usually very kind and as well , jam-packed with fun for me and my office acquaintances to search your site more than thrice …

    • admin says:

      Thank you for the kind words. I pray that the information on this site continues to help you and your acquaintances take life to the next level. Your feedback is very much appreciated : )

Leave a Reply

