Can Fear Be A Good Thing?

I often discuss in this blog that if we want to accomplish our goals and dreams, it is very important to have faith. I also mention that it is often fear that gets in our way and replaces the faith we are supposed to have. I have often thought..once I remove the fear and replace it with faith and confidence, I can accomplish the goal.

During the past few weeks, I have read some very different information, and it has greatly changed my philosophy. I am reading an excellent book called, “The Confidence Gap”, by Russ Harris. Like many of the books I’ve read, it deals with personal empowerment. However, unlike many of them, it does not discuss the affirmation and visualization techniques I have learned about and used.

The enlightening information that has changed my mental philosophy, is this idea: fear is a natural reaction, and the author explains why it is genetically engrained in us. The author reasons that fear is the completely natural human response anytime we move outside our comfort zone. He recommends that, instead of trying to fight and remove the fear, we are far better off accepting the fear. Then instead of letting the fear control us and move us away from our goal, we canĀ  use this energy in a positive way to move us toward the desired result.

In many ways this goes against everything I’ve been taught. I always thought I was wrong to have fears and that God couldn’t work with me or for me if I did. However, this idea has brought a great deal of peace into my life. Instead of fear being abnormal, I am completely normal for having it. God created me, so He knows my natural response is fear. I realize more now that when I do fear, He simply wants me to rely on Him and channel the energy positively like the author (and God) recommends.

I present this peaceful information and receommendation to you, my cherished reader. If you are feeling fear in a difficult situation, there is nothing wrong with you. It simply shows that you are normal. The key is to avoid letting fear get the best of you. Instead of letting it control you, use the energy it creates, focus on the desired result of the task at hand, and simply go for it and do it.

You don’t think even the most confident people feel fear or anxiety? The athlete batting, pitching, shooting, or defending with the game on the line? The speaker delivering a key speech? The pianist or dancer performing live on stage? They may not show it, but they are all experiencing some fear or anxiety. The reason they may appear calm and confident is because, instead of letting fear get the best of them, they channel the energy correctly and creatively to help them perform their best at the most critical times.

Once again, I challenge you to do the same. Don’t let fear get the best of you. Instead, use it for the good it’s intended for. Use your mind to pray and focus, and use your increased adrenelaineĀ to take positive action to accomplish the task at hand.

Through this I have learned that fear will never go away. I wasn’t ok with this before, but I am now. As long as you don’t let fear get a grip on you and bring you down, you can be ok with this too. Once again, instead of letting it negatively affect you, let it inspire and motivate you to “just do it” and live more of the life you want to live. That is certainly nothing to be afraid of. Enjoy the blessings : )

5 Responses to Can Fear Be A Good Thing?

  1. I agree. I remind myself that fear is only an emotion. I’ve learned to think through it, so I don’t freeze up.

    • joedalio says:

      Thanks for the excellent comment! I love what you say about “thinking through it”. In the book I am reading it says to detach from it. Both approaches work better than trying to fight it : )

  2. Fear is the frustrated attempt to control what we cannot.

  3. […] Can Fear Be A Good Thing? (powerofpies.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,181 other followers

